Our Services

Resources Centre

Frequently Asked Questions
e-Booking Service

Title Registration

Fraud Prevention

Q1: Will there be any anti-forgery measures to guard against property fraud under the title registration system?
A: Under the LTO, a title certificate issued by the Land Registry will have to be returned to the Registry for cancellation prior to registration of a transfer or transmission of the property. The Registry will take all practicable steps to strengthen the control measures on the issuance of title certificates and adopt advanced security features to reduce the risk of forgery of title certificates. In addition, property owners will be advised to keep the Registry updated of their latest correspondence addresses (and email addresses) so that the Registry can send a notification to the property owner concerned upon receipt of an application for cancellation of a title certificate.

 

Besides, the Property Alert service at a fee can serve as an additional fraud prevention measure under the title registration system. This service will help property owners detect as soon as possible any unexpected or suspicious applications lodged for registration against their properties as they will receive an email alert from the Registry when an application for registration is lodged against their properties.

 

Furthermore, conveyancing solicitors will continue to play an important role in protecting property owners from the risk of fraud. Similar to the present deeds registration system, the legal professionals will take necessary measures to verify the identity of the parties executing the instruments to be lodged with the Registry.

資源中心

業權註冊

防止欺詐

問題1:在業權註冊制度下,會否有防偽措施防止物業欺詐發生?
答:

根據《業權條例》,在註冊物業的轉移前,須先把土地註冊處發出的業權證明書退回本處註銷。本處會採取所有切實可行的步驟加強發出業權證明書的管制措施,並使用先進的防偽特徵以減少偽造業權證明書的風險。本處也會提醒物業擁有人向本處更新其最近的通訊地址(及電郵地址),以便本處接獲註銷業權證明書的申請時可向有關物業擁有人發出通知。

此外,須付費的物業把關易服務也可視作業權註冊制度的另一項防止欺詐措施。一旦有涉及物業擁有人的物業的註冊申請遞交本處,本處便會向其發出電郵通知,有助物業擁有人盡早發現有否任何涉及其物業而在他預期之外或可疑的註冊申請。

再者,物業轉易律師在保障物業擁有人免受欺詐風險方面也會繼續擔當重要角色。業權註冊制度與現行契約註冊制度相類似的是,對於遞交本處註冊的申請,法律專業人員會採取所需措施核實簽立文書人士的身分。