Our Services

Resources Centre

Frequently Asked Questions
e-Booking Service

Title Registration

Property Owners

Q1: What benefits will the title registration system bring to an owner?
A: Under the title registration system, disposal of the property whether by way of sale or mortgage will become easier. The law under the LTO recognises the person stated to be the owner in the Title Register as the person having full right of disposal of the property. The time and cost for establishing title or ownership will be reduced as it will no longer be necessary to look behind the Title Register and review the title documents to establish title. For a bona fide purchaser for valuable consideration and in possession of the property, he will, upon registration as owner, enjoy indefeasible title under the title registration system. If an owner suffers loss of ownership as a result of a court order restoring or refusing to restore the former owner’s title to the property, he may claim indemnity up to a cap in a fraud case, or without a cap if the loss was caused by mistake or omission of the Land Registry staff.
Q2: Will a property owner be required to keep any title documents and pass them to the purchaser when he sells his property under the title registration system?
A: To help identify the property owner and prevent property fraud, it is proposed that, unless the parties otherwise agree, when a property owner sells his property to a purchaser, he is required to provide the purchaser with the original of the transfer (or instrument of similar effect) which he has lodged with the Land Registry for registration as owner of the property.

 

Further, if a title certificate has been issued to the owner of a property, the Land Registry will not register a subsequent transfer of the property unless the title certificate is returned to the Land Registry for cancellation. Thus, the owner will have to produce the title certificate to the purchaser of the property to facilitate registration of the transfer.

資源中心

業權註冊

物業擁有人

問題1:業權註冊制度對物業擁有人會帶來什麼好處?
答:在業權註冊制度下,不論透過出售或按揭處置物業都會更為容易。《業權條例》確認在業權註冊紀錄上註冊為擁有人的人可以全權處置物業。由於無須查考業權註冊紀錄以外的資料和翻查業權文件以確立物業的業權,因此在確立業權或擁有權方面所需的時間和成本都會減少。已付出有值代價並管有有關物業的真誠買家在註冊為物業擁有人後,將可根據業權註冊制度享有即時不可推翻的業權。如因法庭命令把物業業權歸還或拒絕歸還前物業擁有人而喪失擁有權,該擁有人可在涉及欺詐的情況下申索設有上限的彌償;如有關損失是因土地註冊處職員出錯或遺漏而造成,則其彌償不設上限。
問題2:物業擁有人在業權註冊制度下出售物業時,是否須保留任何業權文件並交予買方?
答:

為協助識別物業擁有人及防止物業欺詐發生,現建議除非買賣雙方另有協議,物業擁有人把物業售予買方時,須向買方提供其註冊為物業擁有人時向土地註冊處遞交的轉移文書(或具同等效力的文書)的正本。

此外,假如物業擁有人已獲發業權證明書,除非該證明書已退回本處註銷,否則本處不會就該物業其後的轉移註冊。因此,物業擁有人須向買方提供業權證明書,以便就轉移進行註冊。