Resources Centre

Title Registration

Proposed Two-Stage Conversion Mechanism

Introduction


  • In order to address the key stakeholders’ diverse views and concerns over the conversion mechanism, and the rectification and indemnity arrangements under the Land Titles Ordinance (Cap. 585) (“LTO”), a Two-Stage Conversion Mechanism was proposed in 2011 for consultation with the key stakeholders. In essence, the proposed Two-Stage Conversion Mechanism is a mechanism of automatic mass conversion of existing land (“LRO land”) which is the subject of a Government lease with a register (“LRO register”) kept under the Land Registration Ordinance (Cap. 128) (“LRO”) by two stages to title registration system.
  • Under the proposed Two-Stage Conversion Mechanism, on commencement of the LTO, title registration system with immediate indefeasibility of title (meaning a bona fide purchaser for valuable consideration and in possession of the property will get immediate indefeasible title) will forthwith apply to new land (as defined in section 20 of the LTO). For existing LRO land, the conversion process would involve two stages of automatic conversion. On a designated date after the commencement of the LTO, all LRO land except those subject to deeds pending registration on the land registers will undergo the first stage of conversion (“primary conversion”) and will automatically be brought under the LTO. After 12 years from the date of primary conversion, all LRO land that has undergone primary conversion (“land with primary title”), subject to certain exceptions, will undergo the final stage of conversion (“full conversion”) and will automatically be converted to land with fully converted title.
Primary Conversion
  • Individual primary title registers (“PTRs”) will be opened gradually during the 12-year primary conversion period for all land with primary title. PTRs will be opened upon registration of the first matter or upon the Land Registrar (“Registrar”)’s own volition during the primary conversion period, whichever is earlier. Before opening an individual PTR, basic screening of the LRO register will be conducted to ascertain the legal ownership of the land. The Registrar may register a caution against full conversion against the land if it appears to him that the legal ownership of the land is not clear. Obsolete entries relating to documents registered before primary conversion which are apparently no longer subsisting will not be carried forward to the PTR upon its opening.
  • During the primary conversion period, land with primary title will remain subject to subsisting interest(s). In essence, “subsisting interest” means interest (whether registered or unregistered) that is subsisting as at the date of primary conversion and that would have been enforceable against the registered owner for the time being had the land remained under the LRO system. A holder of subsisting interest under the LRO may register his interest or give a notice of his claim of interest by registering a non-consent caution. From the date of primary conversion, all transactions relating to land with primary title have to be effected in the manner and form prescribed under the LTO. Interest created after primary conversion should be protected by registration or it will be subject to other registered matters.
  • The PTR is not yet conclusive evidence of the title to the property. The vendor will still be required to produce title deeds and documents according to the current conveyancing practice (sections 13 and 13A of the Conveyancing and Property Ordinance (Cap. 219)), except that documents registered after primary conversion will not be required to be produced if entries relating to such documents are no longer included in the PTR (e.g. entries of mortgages that have been discharged will no longer appear on the PTR as subsisting entries). Besides, documents which have the effect of discharging or satisfying a pre-primary conversion encumbrance will still be required to be produced during the primary conversion period. With the passage of time, documents required to be produced will gradually be reduced.
  • During the primary conversion period, property owners who have acquired title under the LRO regime (“LRO owner”) would be entitled to apply to the court for mandatory rectification (“MR”) under section 82(3) of the LTO if his title was lost due to a fraudulent void transaction, unless the property had been surrendered to the Government for public purpose or resumed since the fraud. MR essentially means mandating the court to rectify the title in favour of the former owner where the title had been passed in a fraudulent void transaction. It in effect reflects the common law rule of nemo dat which means the fraudster could not pass title to the purchaser which he does not have.
  • A LRO owner shown on the PTR who does not wish the title of the land to be converted to land with fully converted title may register an opt-out caution to withhold his property from full conversion, in which case the property will remain in the primary conversion stage and the MR rule will continue to apply. There will be no automatic full conversion of the property until the opt-out caution is withdrawn. An opt-out caution will have to be withdrawn by registration of a withdrawal of opt-out caution before subsequent transfer or transmission of the property can be accepted for registration. Upon withdrawal of the opt-out caution, the property will undergo automatic full conversion.
  • After the primary conversion period, subject to certain exceptions (e.g. where an opt-out caution is registered), the PTR will be deemed to be the Title Register. In general, except for overriding interests, the land will be subject to registered matters only and immediate indefeasibility of title will apply. The MR rule will not apply after full conversion.
Benefits of the Two-Stage Conversion Mechanism
  • The proposed Two-Stage Conversion Mechanism addresses the general preference that automatic mass conversion should be adopted in Hong Kong. It also strikes a balance between protecting the interests of LRO owners (a LRO owner is entitled to MR and may choose to register an opt-out caution during the primary conversion period) on the one hand and achieving title certainty under title registration system (immediate indefeasible title after full conversion) on the other hand.
 
Outstanding Issues
  • One of the major outstanding issues with the proposed Two-Stage Conversion Mechanism lies with the proposed basic screening of the LRO registers as a practicable way to screen out registers with indeterminate ownership from automatic full conversion. Allowing these problematic registers to undergo full conversion will upset title certainty and increase potential indemnity liability for the Land Registry (“LR”), while some key stakeholders have concerns about the need and extent of the basic screening. There have been discussions with the key stakeholders over the need and extent of the basic screening of the LRO registers (currently there are about 3 million LRO registers) in preparation for full conversion and this remains one of the major outstanding issues for the proposed Two-Stage Conversion Mechanism.
Way Forward
  • The LR will continue to engage the key stakeholders in order to resolve and reach consensus on the outstanding issues in relation to the Two-Stage Conversion Mechanism. Meanwhile, the LR is actively pursuing the “new land first” proposal which will enable early implementation of title registration in Hong Kong.

資源中心

業權註冊

擬議的兩階段轉換機制

引言


  • 為回應主要持份者對《土地業權條例》(第585章)(《業權條例》)下的轉換機制和更正及彌償安排的分歧意見和關注,土地註冊處(本處)於2011年提出兩階段轉換機制的建議,並諮詢主要持份者的意見。基本上,擬議的兩階段轉換機制是一個分兩階段把現有土地(《土註條例》土地)大規模自動轉換至業權註冊制度的機制,而有關土地是指政府租契授予的土地,並有一份根據《土地註冊條例》(第128 章)(《土註條例》)為該土地備存的土地登記冊(《土註條例》登記冊)。
  • 根據擬議的兩階段轉換機制,當《業權條例》生效後,業權註冊制度連同「即時不可推翻」業權的規定(即已付出有值代價並管有有關物業的真誠買家將獲得即時不可推翻的業權)會即時適用於新土地(即《業權條例》第20條所界定的土地)。至於現有的《土註條例》土地,轉換過程會涉及兩個階段的自動轉換程序。在《業權條例》生效後的一個指定日期,除於土地登記冊上註明有「待註契約」的土地外,所有《土註條例》土地會進行第一階段轉換(基本轉換)程序,自動轉換到《業權條例》下。在基本轉換日期起計12年後,除若干例外情況外,所有已進行基本轉換的《土註條例》土地(具有基本業權的土地)將進行最終階段轉換(完全轉換)程序,並將自動轉換為具有完全轉換業權的土地。
基本轉換
  • 為所有具有基本業權的土地開立個別基本業權註冊紀錄(基本業權紀錄)的工作,會在12年的基本轉換期內逐步進行。在基本轉換期內,當首個事項註冊或由土地註冊處處長(處長)主動開立基本業權紀錄時,將進行開立基本業權紀錄的工作,兩者以較早者為準。在開立個別基本業權紀錄前,本處將會就《土註條例》登記冊進行基本審查,以確定土地的法定擁有權。如果處長認為有關土地的法定擁有權不清晰,可就該土地註冊「抗完全轉換警告書」。至於與在基本轉換前註冊的文件有關的過時記項,如已明顯無效,在開立基本業權紀錄時便不會予以轉載。
  • 在基本轉換期內,具有基本業權的土地仍受制於存續權益。本質上,「存續權益」是指在基本轉換當日仍然存續,而假如《土註條例》制度繼續適用於有關土地時仍可對當時的註冊擁有人行使的權益(不論已經註冊與否)。擁有《土註條例》下存續權益的人士可將其權益註冊,或註冊一份「非同意警告書」,以作為聲稱擁有這項權益的通知。由進行基本轉換日期起,所有與具有基本業權的土地有關的交易須按《業權條例》所訂定的方式和形式生效。在基本轉換後產生的權益應透過註冊而獲得保障,否則將受其他已註冊事項制約。
  • 基本業權紀錄並未可作為物業業權的不可推翻的證據,賣方仍須根據現行的物業轉易程序(見《物業轉易及財產條例》(第219章)第13和13A條)提供業權契據和文件,但在基本轉換後,如果註冊的文件的記項不再保留於基本業權紀錄內(例如已被解除的按揭的記項不會以仍然存續的記項載於基本業權紀錄內),則無須提供有關文件。此外,那些具有解除或償付在基本轉換前的產權負擔作用的文件,則仍須在基本轉換期內提供。隨着時間過去,須要提供的文件會逐漸減少。
  • 在基本轉換期間,根據《土註條例》制度獲得業權的物業擁有人(《土註條例》擁有人)如因欺詐及無效的交易喪失業權,均符合資格根據《業權條例》第82(3)條向法庭申請強制更正,除非有關物業在發生欺詐後已交還政府作公共用途或已被政府收回。基本上,「強制更正」規則是指如物業業權因欺詐及無效的交易被轉易,便可強制法庭作出有利於前擁有人的業權更正。此舉正反映普通法中的 nemo dat 規則,即指欺詐者不能把自己沒擁有的業權轉予買方。
  • 在基本業權紀錄所載的《土註條例》擁有人如不欲把土地轉換為具有完全轉換業權的土地,可註冊「不轉換通知書」,以阻止其物業進行完全轉換,即其物業會停留在基本轉換階段,而「強制更正」規則也繼續適用。除非「不轉換通知書」被撤銷,否則物業不會自動進行完全轉換。擁有人必須註冊「不轉換通知書」的撤銷,有關物業於其後的轉移或傳轉方可獲接受註冊。待「不轉換通知書」被撤銷後,該物業將自動進行完全轉換。
  • 在基本轉換期後,除若干例外情況外(例如物業被註冊「不轉換通知書」),基本業權紀錄會被視為業權註冊紀錄。一般而言,除凌駕性權益外,有關土地只受已註冊事項制約,而業權即時不可被推翻的權利也會適用,但「強制更正」規則在完全轉換後便不再適用。
兩階段轉換機制的優點
  • 擬議的兩階段轉換機制回應了公眾普遍較支持在香港採用把土地大規模自動轉換至業權註冊制度的做法。此舉一方面保障《土註條例》擁有人的權益(《土註條例》擁有人可在基本轉換期間享有「強制更正」的權利及選擇註冊「不轉換通知書」),另一方面也藉業權註冊制度保障業權的明確性(在完全轉換後可享有業權即時不可被推翻的權利),並在這兩者之間取得平衡。
尚未解決的問題
  • 擬議的兩階段轉換機制其中一個尚未解決的主要問題,是關於建議採用基本審查作為甄別「擁有權不確定」的《土註條例》登記冊的可行方法,以免其自動進行完全轉換。容許這些有問題的登記冊進行完全轉換,會削弱業權的明確性及增加本處的潛在彌償責任,但部份主要持份者卻對是否需要進行基本審查和審查範圍表示關注。為準備完全轉換的工作,本處曾與主要持份者就是否需要對《土註條例》登記冊(現時約有3百萬個登記冊)進行基本審查和審查範圍進行討論,這個問題仍然是擬議的兩階段轉換機制尚未解決的主要問題之一。
未來路向
  • 本處會與主要持份者繼續磋商,以期就有關兩階段轉換機制尚未解決的問題達成共識。與此同時,本處正積極推動「新土地先行」方案,務求早日在香港實施業權註冊制度。