Resources Centre

Title Registration

Post-enactment Review and Preparation for Title Registration

Introduction


  • The Legislative Council (“LegCo”) passed the Land Titles Ordinance (Cap. 585) (“LTO”) in July 2004. The LTO aims to replace the present deeds registration system under the Land Registration Ordinance (Cap. 128) (“LRO”), which does not provide guarantee of title to property, with a title registration system under which the title register (“Title Register”) will be conclusive evidence of the title to and the interests in registered land, with a view to providing greater assurance and certainty to property titles as well as simplifying the procedures of checking title documents in conveyancing.
  • As significant changes had been made to the key parts of the Land Titles Bill (e.g. the conversion mechanism of existing land with a register kept under the LRO and the rectification provisions) at a late stage during the scrutiny of the Bill, at the request of the Bills Committee of the LegCo, the Government undertook to conduct a comprehensive review of the LTO and consider making further amendments to the LTO in consultation with the key stakeholders before its commencement.
 
Engagement with Stakeholders
  • After the enactment of the LTO, the Land Registry (“LR”) established a LTO Steering Committee (“LTOSC”) and a LTO Review Committee (“LTORC”) to steer and carry out the review of the LTO. These Committees comprise representatives of the key stakeholders including the Consumer Council, the Estate Agents Authority, the Heung Yee Kuk, the Hong Kong Association of Banks, the Hong Kong Bar Association, the Hong Kong Mortgage Corporation Limited, the Law Society of Hong Kong, the Real Estate Developers Association of Hong Kong as well as the Development Bureau and relevant Government departments.
  • The LR had either resolved or identified solutions for most of the issues raised during the scrutiny of the Land Titles Bill by the LegCo by May 2007. However, during the post-enactment review of the LTO, further issues were identified and substantial amendments to the LTO were required. To ensure efficient operation of the new system, the LR informed the then LegCo Panel on Planning, Lands and Works that a Land Titles (Amendment) Bill (“LT(A)B”) would be prepared and submitted to the LegCo before commencement of the title registration system.
  • The Government reported in December 2008 to the LegCo Panel on Development on the preparation of the amendments to the LTO and the remaining matters to be settled. The two major issues covered in the report were the conversion mechanism, and the rectification and indemnity arrangements. The conversion mechanism refers to the mechanism for bringing existing land (with a register kept under the LRO) under the LTO. The rectification and indemnity arrangements deal with how the Title Register is to be put right if there is an error in it and how an innocent party who has relied on the Title Register and suffered loss due to an error in the Title Register or fraud resulting in loss of ownership is to be compensated.
  • To briefly illustrate these core issues, for example, it was found that there were cases where ownership of property could not be determined from the land register (such as multiple registers of the same lot number or a single register that appeared to contain more than one chain of title to the same property). Under the enacted LTO, there is no mechanism for the Government to withhold these cases from conversion or to deal with the consequences if they are converted automatically. For the rectification and indemnity arrangements, it was considered that the mandatory rectification (“MR”) rule under the enacted LTO might have the unintended effect of undermining confidence in the title registration system and thus reducing the efficiency with which conveyancing could be conducted. It was also noted that there might be cases, for example, where the land had been resumed by or surrendered to the Government since the fraud and rectification in favour of the former owner was a practical impossibility.
 
Public Consultation
  • A three-month public consultation was conducted in early 2009 to gauge views from the public and stakeholders regarding a modified conversion mechanism, and proposed modifications to the rectification and indemnity arrangements. In the consultation papers, a gradual upgrading conversion approach was proposed, and exceptions to the MR rule were introduced to confine its scope of application. The consultation revealed that the public in general supported retaining the automatic conversion mechanism under the enacted LTO. To address the known cases with indeterminate title, it was accepted that modifications might be made within the enacted automatic conversion framework to withhold these cases from automatic conversion. As to rectification, the outcome of the public consultation indicated that two of the proposed exceptions to the MR rule (i.e. where, since the fraud, the property had been surrendered for public purpose or resumed, or the property had been developed or redeveloped and sold to multiple new purchasers and it would be inequitable to restore title to the former registered owner[1]) were considered generally acceptable, and certain modifications were needed to address the concerns raised by stakeholders.
 

[1] In further consultation with key stakeholders, it was considered that there should only be one exception to the MR rule, i.e. where the property had been surrendered for public purpose or resumed by the Government.

Joint Subcommittee on Amendments to LTO
  • Given that the preparation of amendments to the LTO involved important and complicated issues, a Joint Subcommittee on Amendments to LTO was established under the LegCo Panel on Development and the LegCo Panel on Administration of Justice and Legal Services in February 2009 to monitor the work in a more focused manner and provide inputs in the bill drafting process[2].
   

[2] The Joint Subcommittee was dissolved after submitting a report to the LegCo Panel on Development and the LegCo Panel on Administration of Justice and Legal Services in October 2011. It was considered that when the Government was able to come up with a full package of necessary amendments to the LTO after the consultation exercise, it would be appropriate for the Government to report the work progress with relevant proposals to the two LegCo Panels.

A New Conversion Mechanism – Two-Stage Conversion Mechanism
  • Subsequent to the public consultation conducted in 2009, there were divergent views from stakeholders as to the application of the MR rule. On the one hand, there were views against the MR rule and favouring the proposal of indefeasibility of title. It was considered that the MR rule would undermine the certainty of title and conclusiveness of the Title Register, and work against the objective of simplifying the conveyancing procedures as a purchaser might be encouraged to go behind the Title Register to investigate previous transactions in order to obtain greater assurance that his title would not be at risk. On the other hand, the LR had also received views favouring the retention of the MR rule under the enacted LTO to protect the interests of innocent former owners. To address the conflicting views and balance the concerns of various stakeholders, a new proposal, Two-Stage Conversion Mechanism with modifications to the rectification and indemnity arrangements incorporated in the proposed mechanism, was put forward to the LTOSC for consideration in 2011. The LR conducted briefings and discussion sessions with individual stakeholders for exchanging views on the proposal.
  • Taking into account the comments received from members of the LTOSC on the proposed Two-Stage Conversion Mechanism, the LR refined the conversion proposal for members’ further consideration in June 2013. In developing the revised proposal, the LR considered that basic screening of the land registers kept under the LRO to identify cases with broken or multiple title chains was necessary as it would enhance title certainty and help reduce the indemnity risks.
  • The LR put up four conversion options for comments by members of the LTOSC in June 2014. One of the options was to implement the LTO first on land granted by the Government after the commencement of the LTO, while the conversion of existing land and properties would be pursued in a subsequent legislative exercise. The other three options all involved basic screening of the existing land registers, but at different periods of time. The LR conducted various discussions and exchanged views with individual members of the LTOSC on the four conversion options between June 2014 and November 2016. However, no consensus was reached among the LR and the key stakeholders on how and when basic screening of the existing land registers should be conducted.
A Pragmatic Alternative - “New Land First” Proposal
  • The LTOSC met in December 2016 to discuss the four conversion options and consolidate stakeholders’ views in taking forward the LTO review exercise. At the meeting, the majority of members indicated support for the implementation of title registration system on new land first (i.e. “new land first” proposal) as this option would secure early implementation of title registration system in Hong Kong entailing its benefits.
  • Since then, the LR had been actively pursuing the “new land first” proposal. In consultation with the key stakeholders and relevant Government departments, the LR had explored the scope of new land and proposed pertinent amendments to the LTO for the implementation of the “new land first” proposal. By end of 2018, all key stakeholders had expressed support in principle that the “new land first” proposal be pursued subject to some outstanding issues being resolved. The scope of new land as proposed by the LR under the “new land first” proposal and the proposed implementation of electronic lodgement (“e-lodgement”) under the LTO regime were submitted to the LTORC and LTOSC for discussion and endorsed by the LTOSC in December 2019. Besides, having considered the majority of the key stakeholders’ inclination and with reference to overseas experience, the LR had no objection to the Law Society of Hong Kong’s proposal of mandatory issuance of title certificates under the LTO and would propose relevant amendments to the LTO. The LR is seeking consensus among the key stakeholders on other major outstanding issues for implementing the “new land first” proposal, including the requirement on verification of applications by solicitors, the indemnity arrangements and the caution mechanism. The LR will continue to work closely with the key stakeholders and will refine the proposed major LTO amendments in the light of their comments, with a view to finalising a full package of proposed amendments to the LTO and introducing the LT(A)B to the LegCo for scrutiny.
Overseas Jurisdictions Study
  • During the review of the LTO, the LR noted that in recent years, there have been initiatives to review and update the land registration legislation in some overseas jurisdictions in the light of their operational experience. With an aim to enhancing the proposed amendments to the LTO and to better prepare for the implementation of title registration system in Hong Kong, the LR conducted researches on the latest developments of title registration legislation and good practices in six overseas jurisdictions with common law background. The research was completed in late 2018 and a study report was circulated to members of the LTORC and LTOSC for discussion. Taking into account the comments from members of the LTORC and LTOSC, the LR will incorporate the recommendations in the study report into the proposed amendments to the LTO as appropriate.
Consultation with Other Government Departments
  • As part of the post-enactment review exercise, the LR has also consulted various Government departments and worked closely with them to discuss relevant matters and to address and resolve issues arising from the inter-relationship between the LTO and enactments under other departments’ purview.
Preparation for Title Registration
  • Briefings and seminars on the review of the LTO and latest developments, including the “new land first” proposal and the proposed Two-Stage Conversion Mechanism, dummy run of typical transactions under the LTO and proposed introduction of e lodgement under title registration, have been delivered to the key stakeholders and legal practitioners. The LR will continue with the preparatory work for the drafting of the LT(A)B and its subsidiary legislation. Preparatory work on the operational side for the implementation of title registration system, including development of IT system, preparation of conveyancing and application forms and practice guides, and planning of publicity and public education programmes, is in progress.
Way Forward
  • The title registration system is inherently complicated as it involves complex legal issues and carries significant implications. Throughout the years, the LR has been making continuous efforts in engaging the key stakeholders for achieving early implementation of the title registration system in Hong Kong. The LR will continue to liaise closely with the key stakeholders to address their concerns and reach agreement on the major issues for implementing the “new land first” proposal so that the public and industry practitioners can enjoy the benefits of the title registration system earlier.

資源中心

業權註冊

制定後的檢討及業權註冊的準備工作

引言


  • 立法會於2004年7月通過制定《⼟地業權條例》(第585章)(《業權條例》),該條例旨在設立業權註冊制度,以業權註冊紀錄作為註冊土地的業權及權益的不可推翻的證據,以取代現行《⼟地註冊條例》(第128章)(《⼟註條例》)下未有業權保證的契約註冊制度,從而為物業業權提供更大保證和明確性,並簡化在物業轉易時查核業權文件的程序。
  • 由於《土地業權條例草案》的主要部分(例如把已根據《土註條例》備存土地登記冊的現有土地轉換的機制及更正條文)在審議後期曾作出重大改變,因此政府當年應立法會《土地業權條例草案》委員會的要求,承諾在《業權條例》生效前會先進行全面檢討,並會在諮詢主要持份者之後考慮對《業權條例》作進一步修訂。
與持份者磋商
  • 《業權條例》制定後,土地註冊處(本處)成立《業權條例》督導委員會(督導委員會)及《業權條例》檢討委員會(檢討委員會),負責督導和推展《業權條例》的檢討工作。該兩個委員會的成員是由主要持份者的代表出任,包括消費者委員會、地產代理監管局、鄉議局、香港銀行公會、香港大律師公會、香港按揭證券有限公司、香港律師會、香港地產建設商會,以及發展局和相關政府部門。
  • 關於立法會在審議《土地業權條例草案》時提出的大部分問題,本處在2007年5月前已經解決或找出解決方案。然而,在《業權條例》制定後的檢討期間,發現了其他問題,以致須要就該條例作出大幅修訂。為確保新制度得以有效運作,本處告知立法會當時的規劃地政及工程事務委員會,在業權註冊制度生效之前,會擬備並向立法會提交《土地業權(修訂)條例草案》。
  • 政府在2008年12月向立法會發展事務委員會匯報其擬備《業權條例》修訂建議的進展情況,以及其他尚待解決的事宜。有關報告所涵蓋的兩件主要事項是轉換機制和更正及彌償安排:轉換機制是把已根據《土註條例》備存土地登記冊的現有土地轉換到《業權條例》下的機制;更正及彌償安排則關乎如何更正出現錯誤的業權註冊紀錄,以及如何向信靠業權註冊紀錄,卻因該紀錄出錯而蒙受損失或因受欺詐而喪失業權的不知情人士作出彌償。
  • 為簡單說明這些核心問題,舉例來說,有些個案的物業擁有權未能從土地登記冊確定(例如同一地段編號有超過一份土地登記冊,或在一份土地登記冊內似乎包含超過一個涉及同一個物業的業權鏈)。根據已制定的《業權條例》,並沒有機制容許政府暫緩為這些個案轉制或處理這些個案在自動轉制後所產生的問題。至於更正及彌償安排方面,有意見認為已制定的《業權條例》下的「強制更正」規則可能會帶來一些未能預見的效果,會削弱公眾對業權註冊紀錄的信心,並減低該制度原本可提升物業轉易效率的成效。此外,如有些個案的物業自發生欺詐事件後,已被政府收回或已交還政府,要作出有利於前擁有人的更正安排實際上是不可能的。
 
公眾諮詢
  • 本處在2009年年初進行了為期3個月的公眾諮詢,就修訂的轉換機制和更正及彌償安排的修改建議收集公眾及持份者的意見。諮詢文件提出採用漸進轉換的方式,並引入「強制更正」規則的例外情況,以限制其適用範圍。諮詢結果顯示,市民大眾普遍支持保留已制定的《業權條例》下的自動轉換機制。就處理已知的業權不確定個案,公眾同意對已制定的自動轉換機制作出修改,以暫緩這些個案進行自動轉換。至於更正條文方面,公眾諮詢結果顯示,政府建議在「強制更正」規則加入的其中兩種例外情況(即自發生欺詐事件後,如物業已交還政府作公共用途或已被政府收回;或物業已被發展或重新發展並已售予多名新買家,要恢復前擁有人的業權將顯得不公平[1])大致獲各方接受,但仍須作出若干修改,以回應持份者的關注。


[1] 在進一步諮詢主要持份者後,政府認為只應在「強制更正」規則加入一種例外情況,即物業已交還政府作公共用途或已被政府收回。

研究《業權條例》修訂建議聯合小組委員會
  • 鑑於擬備《業權條例》修訂建議的工作涉及重要及複雜的問題,在2009年2月,立法會的發展事務委員會和司法及法律事務委員會轄下成立了研究《業權條例》修訂建議聯合小組委員會,以更聚焦地監察有關檢討工作,並在政府草擬法案的過程中提供意見[2]


[2] 聯合小組委員會於2011年10月向立法會發展事務委員會和司法及法律事務委員會提交報告後解散。聯合小組委員會認為,待政府在公眾諮詢後完成制訂《業權條例》所需修訂的全盤建議時,由政府向發展事務委員會和司法及法律事務委員會匯報工作進度及相關建議,會是合適的做法。
新的轉換機制 - 兩階段轉換機制
  • 在2009年的公眾諮詢之後,持份者對「強制更正」規則的應用問題意見分歧。一方面,有意見反對「強制更正」規則而主張業權不可推翻的建議,原因是「強制更正」規則會削弱業權的明確性和業權註冊紀錄的定論性,亦有違簡化物業轉易程序的目標,因為可能會驅使買家查考業權註冊紀錄外的資料和翻查以往的交易紀錄,以進一步確保其業權不會有風險。另一方面,本處也接獲意見支持保留已制定的《業權條例》下的「強制更正」規則,以保障不知情的前擁有人的權益。為應對各持份者的不同意見,並平衡他們的關注,本處在2011年向督導委員會提出了兩階段轉換機制的新建議,並在該機制加入更正及彌償安排的修訂,以供委員會考慮。本處亦與個別持份者舉行簡介會和討論會,就有關建議交流意見。
  • 經過研究督導委員會委員對擬議的兩階段轉換機制的意見後,本處在2013年6月優化轉換機制的建議,以供委員進一步考慮。本處在擬備修訂建議時,認為需要就《土註條例》下的土地登記冊進行基本審查,以找出業權鏈斷裂或多重業權鏈的個案,務求增加業權的明確性和減少彌償的風險。
  • 本處在2014年6月提出4個轉換方案,以徵詢督導委員會委員的意見。其中一個方案是在政府於《業權條例》生效後授予的土地先行實施《業權條例》,而現有土地和物業的轉制工作則會於將來的立法過程制定。其他3個方案均涉及就現有的土地登記冊進行基本審查,但會於不同時間進行。本處在2014年6月至2016年11月期間與督導委員會個別委員多次就4個轉換方案進行討論和交換意見,但仍未能與主要持份者就如何和何時對現有土地登記冊進行基本審查達成共識。
務實的選項 — 「新土地先行」方案
  • 為推進《業權條例》的檢討工作,督導委員會在2016年12月召開會議,討論4個轉換方案和整合持份者的意見。在會議上,大部分委員表示支持先行在新土地實施土地業權註冊制度(即「新土地先行」方案),因為這方案可讓香港早日實施土地業權註冊制度,公眾也可早日受惠。
  • 自此以後,本處積極推動「新土地先行」方案。在諮詢主要持份者和相關政府部門的意見後,本處已研究新土地的涵蓋範圍和就《業權條例》作出相關修訂建議,以實施「新土地先行」方案。在2018年年底,所有主要持份者表示原則上支持「新土地先行」方案,惟仍有一些問題尚待解決。其後本處向檢討委員會和督導委員會提交就「新土地先行」方案下新土地的涵蓋範圍,以及在《業權條例》制度下推行以電子方式遞交註冊申請的建議,以供討論,並於2019年12月獲督導委員會通過。此外,在考慮過大部分主要持份者的意向和參考海外經驗後,本處不反對香港律師會提出在《業權條例》下強制發出業權證明書的建議,並會就該條例作出相關的修訂建議。本處現正就實施「新土地先行」方案的其他主要未解決問題尋求主要持份者的共識,包括由律師核實註冊申請的規定、彌償安排和警告書機制。本處會繼續與主要持份者緊密合作,參考他們的意見,從而優化《業權條例》的主要修訂建議,以期敲定該條例的全盤修訂建議,並向立法會提交《土地業權(修訂)條例草案》,以供審議。
海外司法管轄區的研究
  • 在檢討《業權條例》期間,本處發現若干海外司法管轄區近年曾根據其運作經驗檢討和更新其土地註冊法例。為優化《業權條例》的修訂建議,以及為香港實施業權註冊制度作更好準備,本處對6個具有普通法背景的海外司法管轄區的業權註冊法例的最新發展和優良措施進行研究。該項研究在2018年年底完成,相關報告亦已送交檢討委員會和督導委員會的委員閱覽和討論。本處考慮有關委員的意見後,會在適當情況下把研究報告的建議納入《業權條例》的修訂建議內。
諮詢其他政府部門的意見
  • 作為制定後的檢討工作的一部分,本處已諮詢不同政府部門並與他們緊密合作,以討論相關事宜,並處理和解決因應《業權條例》和涉及其他部門管轄的成文法則的相互關係所引起的問題。
業權註冊的準備工作
  • 本處已為主要持份者和法律界從業員就《業權條例》的檢討和最新發展舉行簡介會和座談會,內容包括「新土地先行」方案和擬議的兩階段轉換機制、《業權條例》下常見的物業交易的模擬運作,以及在業權註冊制度下推行以電子方式遞交註冊申請的建議。本處會繼續就《土地業權(修訂)條例草案》和相關附屬法例的草擬進行籌備工作。有關實施業權註冊制度在運作方面的籌備工作均在進行中,包括研發資訊科技系統,擬備物業轉易格式、申請表格和實務指南,以及策劃宣傳和公眾教育活動。
未來路向
  • 業權註冊制度涉及繁複的法律問題和具有深遠影響,因此本質上為複雜的議題。多年以來,本處一直致力與主要持份者磋商,以期早日在香港落實業權註冊制度。本處會繼續與他們密切聯繫,以回應他們的關注,並就實施「新土地先行」方案的主要事宜達成協議,讓公眾和業界從業員早日受惠於業權註冊制度。