Our Services

Resources Centre

Frequently Asked Questions
e-Booking Service

Title Registration

General Public

Q1: As the existing deeds registration system has been in operation for many years, why should the title registration system be introduced?
A: Under the existing deeds registration system, a person registered in the land register as owner of a property may not have good title to the property. There may be uncertainty or defect in his title to the property or his title may be subject to unregistered claims. One has to review relevant title documents to check his title. The existing system lacks the certainty offered by the title registration system. Title registration system will provide better assurance and greater certainty of title and simplify the conveyancing procedures. Hong Kong is amongst the few economies which still run a deeds registration system.
Q2: How is the title registration system different from the deeds registration system?
A: Under the deeds registration system, the land register is only an index of the registered instruments. The title documents are the evidence of title. A person registered in the land register as owner of a property may not have good title to the property as defects in his title to the property may be revealed during title checking. Moreover, the property may be subject to unregistered interests. On the contrary, under the title registration system, the Title Register shall be conclusive evidence of the title to the property. It will no longer be necessary to look behind the Title Register and review the historical title documents to establish title as under the deeds registration system. The title registration system will provide better assurance and greater certainty of title, simplify the conveyancing procedures and bring land registration in Hong Kong in line with the best practices adopted in overseas jurisdictions.
Q3: How will title to property be established under the title registration system?
A: Under the title registration system, the person registered in the Title Register as owner is recognised by law as the legal owner. Title can be established as a matter of fact by checking the Title Register. The title to the property is subject to registered matters and overriding interests (i.e. interests that affect the property notwithstanding that they are not registered e.g. public rights and leases[1] for a term not exceeding 3 years) affecting the property.

[1] Where the lessee is to take possession of the property forthwith under the lease at the best rent without a premium.

Q4: How will the conveyancing procedures be simplified under the title registration system?
A: The Title Register shall be conclusive evidence of the title to the property. After registration of a property under the title registration system, it will no longer be necessary to review the title documents as under the present deeds registration system.
Q5: Why will there be an upper limit in an indemnity claim for fraud cases?
A: The indemnity will be funded by a levy which will be collected on registration of transaction instrument. A levy structure is being devised with a view to keeping the levy at a reasonable and affordable level. Setting an upper limit in an indemnity claim for fraud cases can limit the potential liability and contain the insolvency risk of the Land Titles Indemnity Fund (“Indemnity Fund”). A balance has to be struck amongst the extent of indemnity protection, the levy rate and the financial stability of the Indemnity Fund.

 

Although there will be a limit on the indemnity coverage, a vast majority of all transactions will be fully covered by the scheme. For those exceeding the upper limit, the persons who suffered loss can still benefit from an indemnity coverage up to the indemnity upper limit (proposed at HK$30 million when the Land Titles Ordinance (Cap. 585) (“LTO”) was enacted in 2004) in a fraud case - a protection not available to a defrauded owner under the existing deeds registration system. If the loss exceeds the amount of indemnity payable to the persons who suffered loss, they can still pursue their claims in the court against the fraudsters for the excess amount of loss. 
Q6: Given that there has been a substantial increase in property prices in past years, will the amount of indemnity cap of HK$30 million be increased when the title registration system is implemented?
A: The Government will keep in view the movement of property prices and other relevant factors, and after finalising the major proposals of amendments to the LTO, plans to conduct a study to review the level of the indemnity cap and rate of levy closer to the time of implementation of title registration.
Q7: Will there be any cap on the indemnity payment as a result of loss arising from an error in the Title Register due to mistake or omission of the Land Registry staff?
A: There will be no cap on such indemnity payment. The liability of the Government for its staff will not be diminished by the introduction of the title registration system. Such indemnity will be paid out of the Indemnity Fund which will then be reimbursed by the Land Registry Trading Fund.
Q8: Why will the court be given a power to rectify the Title Register to restore the title to the property to the former owner and under what circumstances will the court exercise this power?
A: The person named in the Title Register as owner is recognised by law as the legal owner of the property. However, the effect on an innocent former owner who might lose ownership due to fraud (e.g. forgery) could be severe if this principle is applied without allowing rectification by the court under specific circumstances.

 

Rectification of the Title Register may be ordered by the court if the court is satisfied that the entry in the Title Register was obtained, made, omitted or removed by or as a result of (a) the fraud, mistake or omission of any person; or (b) a void or voidable instrument. In the case of fraud or in the case of mistake or omission of the Land Registry staff, any innocent party suffering loss as a result of a court order restoring or refusing to restore a former owner’s title to the property will be eligible for claiming compensation from the Indemnity Fund.
Q9: What is the “Mandatory Rectification” rule?
A: Under section 82(3) of the LTO, rectification of the Title Register shall be given in favour of a former innocent owner if he lost his title by or as a result of fraud and the court is satisfied that (a) the former owner lost his title as a result of a void or voidable instrument or a false entry in the Title Register; (b) the former owner was not a party to the fraud; and (c) the former owner did not, by his act or by lack of proper care, substantially contribute to the fraud. This is called the “Mandatory Rectification” (“MR”) rule.

 

The MR rule would undermine title certainty because under this rule, all purchasers would be subject to the risk of losing title to a former owner. Title certainty is a major feature and benefit of title registration system. To achieve title certainty, it is intended that the MR rule will not apply to new land under the "new land first" proposal. 
Q10: What is “Immediate Indefeasibility”?
A: Under the LTO, title will pass to a transferee upon registration of the transferee as owner of the property regardless of any defect or invalidity of the transfer, subject nevertheless to the court’s power to order rectification of the Title Register. Under the principle of immediate indefeasibility, a bona fide registered owner who is in possession of the property and has acquired the property for valuable consideration is entitled to indefeasible title and no rectification order may be made by the court against him.
Q11: When will the title registration system be implemented?
A: The Land Registry aims to complete the drafting of the Land Titles (Amendment) Bill and introduce it into the Legislative Council as soon as practicable and commence title registration on new land about one year after the enactment of the amendment bill (as lead time will be required for enhancing the Land Registry’s computer system to cater for transactions to be effected in the form prescribed under the LTO, conducting public information and professional training programmes to facilitate the public and industry practitioners to understand the new system, and training Land Registry staff on the work procedures).
Q12: What progress on the implementation of title registration system has been made since the enactment of the LTO?
A: The title registration system under the LTO is inherently complicated involving complex legal issues and carries significant implications. When the LTO was enacted in 2004, at the request of the then Legislative Council, the Government undertook to conduct a comprehensive review of the LTO before its commencement. The review has identified a number of issues and it is concluded that an amendment bill is necessary before the LTO can come into operation. Over the years, the Government has spared no efforts in engaging the key stakeholders with a view to reaching consensus on the proposed Two-Stage Conversion Mechanism for the conversion of existing land with a register kept under the Land Registration Ordinance (Cap. 128) (“LRO”), the “new land first” proposal for implementing title registration on newly granted land and related pertinent issues. A study of the latest title registration legislation and good practices adopted by several overseas jurisdictions with common law background has also been conducted in order to enhance the proposed amendments to the LTO.

 

To enable early implementation of the title registration system in Hong Kong, the Land Registry is actively pursuing the “new land first” proposal, and is working closely with the key stakeholders to forge consensus on the major issues for implementing the proposal.

資源中心

業權註冊

一般市民

問題1:現行的契約註冊制度已實施多年,為何要引進業權註冊制度?
答:根據現行的契約註冊制度,在土地登記冊上註冊為物業擁有人的人未必擁有物業的妥善業權。其業權可能有瑕疵或不明確之處,或可能受到沒有註冊的申索制約,因而必須翻查有關的業權文件,以核實業權。現行制度欠缺業權註冊制度所具備的明確性,而業權註冊制度則會為業權提供更大保證和明確性,並簡化物業轉易程序。香港是少數仍然實施契約註冊制度的經濟體系之一。
問題2:業權註冊制度與契約註冊制度有何分別?
答:根據契約註冊制度,土地登記冊只是已註冊文書的索引,而業權文件則是業權的證明。在土地登記冊上註冊為物業擁有人的人不一定擁有妥善的業權,因為在查證業權時,可能會發現其物業業權有瑕疵。再者,有關物業可能受到沒有註冊的權益制約。相反,在業權註冊制度下,業權註冊紀錄是物業業權不可推翻的證據,無須查考業權註冊紀錄以外的資料,亦無須按照契約註冊制度下的做法,翻查以往的業權文件才能確立業權。業權註冊制度會為業權提供更大保證和明確性,並簡化物業轉易程序,使香港的土地註冊制度與海外司法管轄區的優良措施看齊。
問題3:如何在業權註冊制度下確立業權?
答:根據業權註冊制度,在業權註冊紀錄上註冊為擁有人的人在法律上會獲確認為擁有人。業權是可藉查閱業權註冊紀錄而確立的事實。然而,物業業權仍須受影響物業的已註冊事項和凌駕性權益(指即使沒有註冊但仍會影響物業的權益,例如公眾權利及租期不超過3年的租契[1])制約。

[1] 承租人根據該租契即時管有該物業,且租金為在無須支付額外費用的情況下的最佳租金者。

問題4:業權註冊制度如何簡化物業轉易程序?
答:業權註冊紀錄是物業業權不可推翻的證據。物業根據業權註冊制度註冊後,便無須如現行的契約註冊制度般翻查業權文件。
問題5:為何在欺詐個案設定彌償申索上限?
答:彌償基金的收入是來自交易文書遞交註冊的徵費。土地註冊處現正設計一個徵費模式,以便把該徵費維持在合理和市民可負擔的水平。就欺詐個案設立彌償申索上限,可為土地業權彌償基金(彌償基金)的潛在法律責任和無力償債風險設限。本處須在彌償保障範圍、徵費率和彌償基金的財政穩定之間取得平衡。 

儘管彌償款額設有上限,絕大部分物業交易將可獲彌償計劃的足額彌償。對於損失超逾彌償上限的欺詐個案,蒙受損失人士最高可獲得彌償的上限款額(《土地業權條例》(第585章)(《業權條例》)於2004年制定時建議為港幣3,000萬元),而現行的契約註冊制度並沒有為被詐騙的物業擁有人提供這項保障。假如蒙受損失人士的損失超逾彌償款項,他們仍可透過法庭向欺詐者申索其餘的損失。
問題6:鑑於物業價格在過去數年大幅上升,實施業權註冊制度時,以港幣3,000萬元為上限的彌償款額會否增加?
答:政府會密切留意物業價格的走勢和其他相關因素,並待敲定《業權條例》的主要修訂建議後,計劃在臨近業權註冊制度實施時進行研究,檢討彌償上限水平和徵費率。
問題7:因土地註冊處職員出錯或遺漏導致業權註冊紀錄錯誤而引致損失的個案,有沒有設定彌償款額的上限?
答:因土地註冊處職員出錯或遺漏而引致的彌償申索,彌償款額是沒有上限的。引進業權註冊制度不會減輕政府對其職員所須承擔的法律責任。彌償款項會先由彌償基金支付,其後由土地註冊處營運基金向彌償基金償還有關款項。
問題8:為何賦予法庭更正業權註冊紀錄的權力,把物業業權歸還前擁有人?法庭會在什麼情況下行使該項權力?
答:

在業權註冊紀錄所載的擁有人在法律上會獲確認為物業的擁有人。然而,如果引用這項原則而不容許法庭在特定情況下作出更正,便會對因欺詐(例如偽造)而可能喪失擁有權的不知情前物業擁有人造成嚴重影響。

假如法庭信納業權註冊紀錄的記項是透過或由於(a)任何人的欺詐、錯誤或遺漏;或(b)一份無效或可使無效的文書取得、作出、遺漏或刪除,可命令更正業權註冊紀錄。在涉及欺詐或土地註冊處職員出錯或遺漏的情況下,任何因法庭命令把物業業權歸還或拒絕歸還前物業擁有人而蒙受損失的不知情一方,均符合資格要求彌償基金作出彌償。

問題9:什麽是「強制更正」規則?
答:

根據《業權條例》第82(3)條,若有不知情的前物業擁有人透過或由於欺詐導致喪失業權,而法庭又信納以下各點,則法庭會在業權註冊紀錄作出有利他的更正:(a)前物業擁有人因無效文書或業權註冊紀錄內的虛假記項而喪失業權;(b)前物業擁有人沒有參與該項欺詐;以及(c)前物業擁有人沒有因其行為或本身沒有適當處理,因而在相當程度上促成該項欺詐。這項更正稱為「強制更正」規則。

由於「強制更正」規則會令所有買家蒙受喪失業權予前擁有人的風險,因而損害業權的明確性。業權的明確性是業權註冊制度的主要特色和優點,為確保業權的明確性,現不擬把「強制更正」規則應用於「新土地先行」方案的新土地。

問題10:什麽是「即時不可推翻」的原則?
答:根據《業權條例》,儘管物業的轉移有任何瑕疵或無效情況,受讓人一旦註冊為物業擁有人,業權便轉讓予他,惟法庭有權命令更正業權註冊紀錄。根據「即時不可推翻」的原則,付出有值代價購買物業並管有該物業的真誠已註冊擁有人,可享有即時不可推翻的業權,法庭不會頒令更正其業權。
問題11:業權註冊制度將於何時實施?
答:土地註冊處擬在切實可行範圍內盡快完成草擬《土地業權(修訂)條例草案》,以提交立法會審議,然後在修訂草案獲通過成為法例約一年後實施業權註冊制度。原因是本處需時提升電腦系統,讓有關交易按《業權條例》所訂定的形式生效。本處也會提供公眾資訊和專業訓練,協助公眾及業界從業員認識新的制度,並培訓本處職員相關的工作程序。
問題12:自從《業權條例》制定後,在實施業權註冊制度方面有何進展?
答:

《業權條例》下的業權註冊制度本質上十分複雜,涉及複雜的法律問題,並且影響深遠。該條例於2004年制定時,在當時的立法會要求下,政府承諾在該條例生效前進行全面檢討。經檢討後,發現《業權條例》存在若干問題,須為其制定修訂草案,才可實施。這些年來,政府致力與主要持份者磋商,務求就在《土地註冊條例》(第128章)(《土註條例》)下備存登記冊的現有土地進行轉換的擬議兩階段轉換機制;在新授予土地實施業權註冊制度的「新土地先行」方案;以及相關議題達成共識。

土地註冊處已就數個具有普通法背景的海外司法管轄區的最新業權註冊法例和採用的優良措施進行研究,以優化《業權條例》的修訂建議。

為早日在香港實施業權註冊制度,本處正積極推動「新土地先行」方案,並與主要持份者緊密合作,以期就落實該方案的主要議題達成共識。