Our Services

Resources Centre

Frequently Asked Questions
e-Booking Service

Title Registration

“New Land First” Proposal

Q1: What is “new land first” proposal?
A: Under the “new land first” proposal, title registration will be implemented on newly granted land first (i.e. land granted by the Government after the commencement of the LTO). The conversion of existing land registered under the LRO (“LRO land”) will be pursued at a later stage in a subsequent legislative exercise after a few years of implementing title registration on new land and subject to the reaching of consensus with the key stakeholders on the conversion mechanism.
Q2: Why is it proposed to implement title registration on newly granted land first?
A: The implementation of title registration on newly granted land is relatively straightforward. The task of preparing an amendment bill for implementing title registration on new land is simpler. This will help speed up the preparatory work for the implementation of a title registration system in Hong Kong, which will enable the public and industry practitioners to enjoy the benefits of the new system earlier.

 

The “new land first” proposal will enable the Land Registry to focus its resources on setting up a title registration system for new land and gain experience from running the title registration system. Also, implementing title registration on new land will have a demonstrative effect and help build support for the extension of the new registration system to existing LRO land.

 

The Land Registry has been actively engaging the key stakeholders through briefings and discussion meetings on the “new land first” proposal. All key stakeholders have expressed support in principle for the proposal subject to some outstanding issues to be resolved. The Land Registry will continue to work closely with the key stakeholders and forge consensus on the major issues for implementing the “new land first” proposal.

 

Q3: If the “new land first” proposal is adopted, will the current deeds registration system and the new title registration system run in parallel indefinitely?
A: Under the “new land first” proposal, title registration system will apply to new land first, and existing LRO land will continue to be dealt with and registered under the current deeds registration system and existing laws. Parallel running of two registration systems is not uncommon in overseas jurisdictions. For example, in England and Wales, Ireland, Scotland and Singapore, parallel running of title registration system and its original land registration system has lasted or has been lasting for a relatively long period of time.

 

The Land Registry will keep in view the progress of the implementation of title registration system on new land. After a few years of implementing title registration on new land and subject to the reaching of consensus with the key stakeholders on the conversion mechanism, another legislative exercise will be undertaken to extend the title registration system to existing LRO land.
Q4: What is “new land” under the “new land first” proposal?
A: In gist, subject to certain exceptions, “new land” means land granted under a Government lease or an agreement for a Government lease on or after the day (“appointed day”) on which the LTO comes into operation with a lease term expressed to run from or after the appointed day. It will include land granted by the Government by way of land sale (auction or tender), private treaty grant and land exchange.

資源中心

業權註冊

「新土地先行」方案

問題1:什麽是「新土地先行」方案?
答:根據「新土地先行」方案,業權註冊制度將於新授予的土地(即指政府在《業權條例》生效後授予的土地)先行實施。土地註冊處會待業權註冊制度在新土地實施數年,並與主要持份者就轉換機制達成共識後,在稍後階段另行立法轉換現有根據《土註條例》註冊的土地(《土註條例》土地)。
問題2:為何建議先行在新授予土地實施業權註冊?
答:

先行在新授予土地實施業權註冊比較直接,而且擬備在新土地實施業權註冊的修訂條例草案工作也較為簡單。此舉有助加快在香港實施業權註冊制度的籌備工作,讓公眾及業界從業員早日受惠於新制度。

「新土地先行」方案可讓土地註冊處集中資源在新土地實施業權註冊制度,並由新制度的運作汲取經驗。此外,在新土地先行實施業權註冊亦具有示範作用,有助爭取各方支持把新註冊制度擴展至現有的《土註條例》土地。

本處一向積極透過簡介會和討論會與主要持份者磋商「新土地先行」方案。所有主要持份者均表示原則上支持這個方案,惟仍有一些議題尚待解決。本處會繼續與主要持份者緊密合作,務求就實施「新土地先行」方案的主要議題達成共識。

問題3:如果採用「新土地先行」方案,現行的契約註制度和新的業權註冊制度會否無限期並行運作?
答:

根據「新土地先行」方案,業權註冊制度首先會應用於新土地,而現有的《土註條例》土地則會繼續按照現行的契約註冊制度和法律處理及辦理註冊。在其他海外司法管轄區,兩種註冊制度並行運作並非不普遍,例如在英格蘭和威爾斯、愛爾蘭、蘇格蘭和新加坡,業權註冊制度與原來的土地註冊制度曾經或仍在並行運作相當長的時間。

土地註冊處將會留意在新土地實施業權註冊制度的進展情況,待這制度在新土地實行數年,以及與主要持份者就轉換機制達成共識後,展開另一輪立法工作,把業權註冊制度擴展至現有的《土註條例》土地。

問題4:根據「新土地先行」方案,什麼是「新土地」?
答:概括來說,除條文所載的若干例外情況外,「新土地」是指由政府在《業權條例》開始生效之日(指定日期)或之後根據政府租契或政府租契協議授予而其租契年期示明由指定日期或之後起計算的土地,並包括透過賣地(拍賣或招標)、私人協約及以換地方式授予的土地。