Our Services

Resources Centre

Frequently Asked Questions
e-Booking Service

Title Registration

Background

Introduction


  • The present land registration system in Hong Kong is a deeds registration system governed by the Land Registration Ordinance (Cap. 128) (“LRO”). It governs the priority of registered instruments but gives no guarantee of title to the property. Registration of an instrument under the LRO does not confer any validity on the instrument. Therefore, even if a person is registered in the land register as owner of a property, he may not be the legal owner because there may be uncertainty or defect in his title to the property or his title may be subject to the claim of some other person which does not appear on the land register kept by the Land Registry (“LR”). The uncertainty of title may put purchasers at risk, cause confusion to the public and reduce the commercial potential of properties in some cases. Hence, in each and every case, it is necessary to check all the title documents affecting the property that are required to be produced as proof of title pursuant to the Conveyancing and Property Ordinance (Cap. 219).
  • As opposed to a land register kept under a deeds registration system, the title register (“Title Register”) kept under a title registration system is conclusive evidence of the title to the property. The registration of a person as owner of a property in the Title Register shall vest the title to the property in him. The purchaser is not required to look behind the Title Register and check the historical title documents concerning the property to establish title. Hence, a title registration system can provide better assurance and greater certainty of title as well as simplify the conveyancing procedures.
 
Benefits of Title Registration
  • The key benefits of a title registration system are:

    • Certainty of title

      The Title Register is conclusive evidence of the title to registered properties. A bona fide purchaser who has paid valuable consideration and is in possession of the property is entitled to indefeasible title upon registration as owner.

    • Provision of indemnity

      Indemnity, subject to a cap, is available to persons who suffer loss due to property fraud that causes an entry being made in, or removed or omitted from the Title Register and results in the loss of ownership.

    • Simplified conveyancing procedures

      In general, except for overriding interests (i.e. interests that affect the property notwithstanding that they are not registered, e.g. public rights and leases[1] for a term not exceeding 3 years), title is only subject to registered matters shown on the Title Register. A purchaser is not required to look behind the Title Register and check the historical title documents concerning the property to establish title.



[1] Where the lessee is to take possession of the property forthwith under the lease at the best rent without a premium.

Legislative History
  • In 1988, the then Registrar General (former Land Registrar) set up a working party (comprising practising solicitors from prominent conveyancing law firms and representatives of the Faculty of Law of the University of Hong Kong) to examine the introduction of a title registration system for Hong Kong, drawing on the experience of the land registration systems operating in comparable overseas jurisdictions. The objective was to improve the efficiency and security of the land registration system of Hong Kong so that it would better serve the public and professionals engaged in property-related businesses. A number of stakeholders including the Law Society of Hong Kong (“Law Society”) and the Hong Kong Bar Association were consulted on the proposal. The first Land Titles Bill was introduced into the Legislative Council (“LegCo”) in November 1994 but the scrutiny work was not completed within the legislative term. Accordingly, the Bill lapsed at the end of the legislative term in July 1995.
  • After the lapse of the Land Titles Bill in July 1995, the LR maintained dialogue with the Law Society and, in consultation with other key stakeholders, reviewed and revised various elements of the Bill. A revised Land Titles Bill was introduced into the LegCo in December 2002 and passed on 7 July 2004. The enacted Land Titles Ordinance (Cap. 585) (“LTO”) was gazetted on 23 July 2004.
Post-enactment Review and Preparation for Title Registration
  • At the request of the LegCo, the Government undertook to conduct a comprehensive review of the LTO before its commencement, and to take follow-up actions on various issues raised during the scrutiny of the Bill. Since the enactment of the LTO, the LR has, in consultation with the key stakeholders, carried out a comprehensive review of the LTO for the implementation of the title registration system. Throughout the years, various proposals have been put forward to address stakeholders’ divergent views over the main issues including the mechanism for bringing existing land and properties to which the LRO applies under the LTO (i.e. conversion mechanism) and the rectification and indemnity arrangements. The LR has been making continuous efforts in engaging the key stakeholders, bridging their different expectations and addressing their concerns on implementing the title registration system. As there are still outstanding issues on the conversion mechanism, for the sake of achieving early implementation of the title registration system with the benefits that it will bring, the LR is actively pursuing the proposal of implementing title registration on new land first (i.e. land granted by the Government after the commencement of the LTO) (““new land first” proposal”) and has secured support in principle for the proposal from the key stakeholders.
Way Forward
  • The LR will continue to liaise closely with the key stakeholders to address their concerns and reach consensus on the major issues and proposed amendments to the LTO for implementing title registration under the “new land first” proposal. After that, a Land Titles (Amendment) Bill incorporating the proposed amendments will be submitted to the LegCo for scrutiny.

資源中心

業權註冊

背景

引言


  • 香港現行的土地註冊制度是契約註冊制度,受《土地註冊條例》(第128章) (《土註條例》)規管。契約註冊制度監管已註冊文書的優先次序,但不提供物業業權的保證。根據《土註條例》註冊文書不會賦予該文書任何法律效力。因此,即使已在土地登記冊上註冊為物業擁有人的人,也未必是物業法律上的擁有人,原因是其物業業權可能有瑕疵或不明確之處,或其業權可能受到其他未於土地註冊處(本處)備存的土地登記冊上註冊的人申索。在業權不明確的情況下,買家可能須承擔風險,公眾亦可能感到困惑。在某些個案,所涉物業的商業潛力更可能會削減。因此,每宗個案均須查核根據《物業轉易及財產條例》(第219章)規定提供作為業權證明的所有影響物業的業權文件。
  • 有別於契約註冊制度下所備存的土地登記冊,在業權註冊制度下備存的業權註冊紀錄是物業業權不可推翻的證據。在業權註冊紀錄註冊為物業擁有人的人會獲賦予物業的業權,買家無須查考業權註冊紀錄以外的資料和翻查物業以往的業權文件來確立業權。因此,業權註冊制度可為業權提供更大保證和明確性,並可簡化物業轉易程序。
業權註冊的優點
  • 業權註冊制度的主要優點如下:

    • 業權明確

      業權註冊紀錄是已註冊物業業權不可推翻的證據。已付出有值代價及管有物業的真誠買家在註冊為擁有人後,即可享有不可推翻的業權。

    • 提供彌償

      任何人因物業欺詐導致業權註冊紀錄作出、移除或遺漏記項而喪失擁有權所蒙受的損失,可獲設有上限的彌償。

    • 簡化物業轉易程序

      一般而言,除了凌駕性權益(指即使沒有註冊但仍會影響物業的權益,例如公眾權利及租期不超過3年的租契[1])外,業權只受業權註冊紀錄所載的已註冊事項規限。買家無須查考業權註冊紀錄以外的資料和翻查物業以往的業權文件來確定業權。



[1] 承租人根據該租契即時管有該物業,且租金為在無須支付額外費用的情況下的最佳租金者。

立法歷史
  • 在1988年,當時的註冊總署署長(土地註冊處處長的前身)成立工作小組(成員包括著名業權轉易事務律師行的執業律師及香港大學法律學院代表),參考相若的海外司法管轄區在土地註冊制度的運作經驗,研究在香港引進業權註冊制度,目的是提升香港土地註冊制度的效率和保障水平,以期更切合公眾和從事與物業相關行業的專業人士的需要。本處曾就這建議諮詢持份者的意見,當中包括香港律師會(律師會)和香港大律師公會,並在1994年11月把首條《土地業權條例草案》提交當時的立法局審議,但有關工作未能在當屆立法局任期完結前完成,而該條例草案也隨着當屆立法局任期於1995年7月結束而失效。
  • 上述的《土地業權條例草案》在1995年7月失效後,本處繼續與律師會進行商討,並諮詢其他主要持份者的意見,對該條例草案作出檢討和若干修訂。其後,經修訂的《土地業權條例草案》在2002年12月提交立法會,並於2004年7月7日獲得通過。制定的《土地業權條例》(第585章)(業權條例)於2004年7月23日刊憲。
制定後的檢討及業權註冊的準備工作
  • 在立法會的要求下,政府承諾在《業權條例》生效前進行全面檢討,並跟進在審議條例草案過程中發現的各項問題。自《業權條例》制定以來,本處就該條例諮詢主要持份者的意見,並進行全面檢討工作,以便落實業權註冊制度。在過去的日子,本處曾提出不同方案,以回應持份者對主要議題的分歧意見,包括把《土註條例》適用的現有土地和物業轉換到《業權條例》下的機制(即轉換機制),以及更正機制和彌償安排。本處一直致力與主要持份者磋商,以協調他們對實施業權註冊制度的不同期望及回應他們的關注。由於現時在轉換機制方面仍有問題尚未解決,為早日實施業權註冊制度以享受其帶來的好處,本處正積極推動先行在新土地(即指政府在《業權條例》生效後授予的土地)實施業權註冊的方案(「新土地先行」方案),並已獲主要持份者原則上支持。
未來路向
  • 本處會繼續與主要持份者密切聯繫,以回應他們的關注,並就在「新土地先行」方案下落實業權註冊制度的主要議題和《業權條例》的修訂建議達成共識。其後,本處會把擬議的修訂納入《土地業權(修訂)條例草案》,提交立法會審議。