Proposals for Title Registration

1. Hong Kong is one of the few common law jurisdictions that still operates a deeds registration system for recording transactions in land and property, rather than a title registration system. The Land Registration Ordinance (Cap.128) (LRO), under which the registration of deeds is conducted, was enacted in 1844 and is one of the oldest pieces of Hong Kong legislation still in use. Keeping pace with the times, searches on land records have been supported by computerisation of land registers and imaging of instruments for more than two decades. However, the fact that the land registers remain simply an index to registered instruments has significant impact on the efficiency with which conveyancing and other dealings in property can be conducted. Every time a transaction takes place, a solicitor has to review the deeds in order to check the title whereas under a title registration system the title register itself gives the evidence of current ownership and interests in the property.

2. In 1988, the then Registrar General established a working party to examine the introduction of title registration for Hong Kong, drawing on schemes in place in comparable jurisdictions. The objective was to improve the efficiency and security with which property could be dealt with so as to better serve the public and professionals engaged in property related business. By 1993, a Land Titles Bill was prepared. The Bill proposed automatic conversion of all properties, for which registers of deeds existed, into properties with registered titles. The Bill was introduced into the Legislature in 1994 but lapsed at the end of the session. The major objection was to the method of conversion - known as 'midnight conversion' - on the grounds that it gave insufficient notice and protection against the loss of unwritten equitable interests that can be claimed against property under the present law.

3. A revised bill was gazetted in December 2002. The revised bill proposed replacing the 'midnight conversion' mechanism with 'gradual conversion' under which there would be compulsory applications for conversion upon first sale of a property after commencement of Land Titles Ordinance, along with opportunity for voluntary applications for conversion without a sale. During deliberations in the Legislative Council, it was made clear that the Law Society of Hong Kong did not feel able to support the approach on account of the liabilities that it appeared to place on solicitors during the conversion. They had to sign a certificate of good title to support the conversion. There was also strong demand for a more certain timetable for conversion rather than indefinite parallel operation of the deeds registration system and the title registration system.

4. In response to these concerns, a new mechanism termed 'daylight conversion' was developed. Under this mechanism -

New Land will come directly under the title registration system from the day of commencement of the legislation. New land is defined to include most land held under a new Government lease granted or an agreement for a Government lease on or after the appointed day after the commencement of the new ordinance. The only exceptions are land held under short term tenancies or a grant by way of modification or variation where only the lease term, the area or conditions of the lease have been varied.

Existing land and property ('LRO land') will remain under the terms of the LRO and Conveyancing and Property Ordinance (Cap. 219) for a further period (the 'interim period'), currently set at 12 years. During this period, new measures will be introduced under the LRO to give those who claim interest in the property an opportunity to protect their claim against the risk of loss before the property is sold. These new measures are 'caveat' and 'caution against conversion' which are more fully described in 'The "Daylight Conversion" Mechanism'. They will become available at the same time when the new ordinance is commenced.

Conversion is automatic at the end of the interim period. No special application has to be made for conversion to take place. There are certain circumstances in which a property will not be brought onto the title register at the end of the interim period, for example, when a 'caution against conversion' has been registered or when an instrument submitted for registration under the old system has not yet completed registration. Conversion will follow automatically as soon as the obstacle to conversion has been removed. No investigation of title or issue of a certificate of good title by a practising solicitor is required.

No voluntary conversion. A consequence of removing the investigation of title and issue of a certificate of good title required under the gradual conversion mechanism is that there is no means for a voluntary application for conversion to be dealt with. All existing properties will have to wait for the end of the interim period before conversion takes place.


5. This revised approach to conversion was found acceptable by most parties. Extensive committee stage amendments were then made to the Bill during May and June 2004 to give effect to this new conversion scheme and to respond to other requests for revision.

業權註冊的建議

1. 香港是少數仍然沿用契約註冊制度而非業權註冊制度記錄土地物業交易的普通法司法管轄區之一。《土地註冊條例》(第128章)(《土註條例》) 於 1844 年制定,是香港最早期的法例之一,一直沿用至今;契約註冊便是根據這項法例施行。過去二十多年來,土地註冊處與時並進,推行土地登記冊電腦化及實施文件影像處理後,查閱物業紀錄更為便捷。然而,由於土地登記冊只是已註冊文書的索引,因此對進行物業轉易及房地產交易的效率有重要的影響。每次進行物業交易時,律師必須翻查以往的契約,以核實有關業權。但在業權註冊制度下,業權註冊紀錄本身就是物業的現時業權和權益的證明。


2. 前註冊總署署長於1888年成立工作小組,研究在香港引入業權註冊制度,並參考其他可作比較的司法管轄區採用的制度。引入業權註冊制度的目的是提高物業交易的效率和安全性,以便為市民和從事與物業有關的專業人士提供更佳服務。政府在 1993 年擬備了土地業權條例草案,建議把已備存契約登記冊的所有物業,自動轉換為業權註冊的物業。該草案於 1994 年提交立法機關審議,但審議工作於會期結束時終止,原因是該草案建議的轉制方法 (稱為「午夜轉換」機制) 遭到反對,理由是該轉制機制沒有就轉制給予充足時間的通知,也沒有為防止喪失按現行法律下可針對相關物業提出申索的非書面訂明的衡平法權益提供保障。


3. 草案經修改後於2002年12月刊憲,建議以「逐步轉換」機制取代「午夜轉換」機制。根據「逐步轉換」機制,物業在《土地業權條例》生效後首次出售時,必須申請轉制,而未有出售的物業則可申請自願轉制。由於香港律師會認為在該轉制機制下,律師須簽發妥善業權證明書以支持轉制,故須承擔很重的法律責任,所以在立法會審議草案期間,該會清楚表明不支持這個轉制方案。此外亦有意見強烈要求政府設定一個較確實的轉制時間表,而不是無限期並行實施契約註冊和業權註冊兩套制度。


4. 為回應上述問題,政府制定了一個名為「白晝轉換」的新轉制機制。按照這個機制-

新土地會由新例開始生效當日直接納入業權註冊制度。新土地的定義包括大部分新條例生效後於指定日期或之後根據政府租契形式或政府租契協議形式批出而持有的土地。至於根據短期租約形式而持有的土地或根據一份只在原有租契年期、土地範圍或租契條件方面作修訂或更改的政府租批而持有的土地則除外。

現有土地及物業 (「《土註條例》土地」) 仍會受《土註條例》及《物業轉易及財產條例》(第219章)的條款規管一段時期 (「過渡期」),這段過渡期暫定為 12 年。在這段期間,政府會在《土註條例》之下實施新措施,以保障那些聲稱對有關物業持有權益的人士,減低物業出售對該等人士造成損失的風險。這些新措施是「知會備忘」 及「抗轉換警告書」註冊機制,於「『白晝轉換』機制」會作詳述。這些新措施會在新條例生效時同時推出。

自動轉制會在過渡期結束後實施,毋須就轉換提出特別申請。一般而言,物業均會在過渡期結束時直接轉入業權註冊紀錄,但亦有若干情況例外,例如有關物業在登記冊上已註冊了「抗轉換警告書」或仍有文書根據《土註條例》提交註冊但註冊程序尚未完成,該物業便不能自動轉入業權註冊紀錄。當妨礙物業轉制的障礙一旦消除,物業便會自動轉制而毋須審查業權或由執業律師發出妥善業權證明書。

不實施自願轉制」:「逐步轉換」機制遭否決後,按該機制審查以往業權紀錄及發出妥善業權證明書的規定將會被刪除,這亦意味著申請自願轉制的機制將無法運作而隨之消失。所有現存物業均須留待過渡期結束時才會轉至新制度。


5. 經修改的轉制方案獲大部分相關團體接受。在2004年5月及6月期間,政府於委員會審議階段大幅度修訂草案,以配合這個新轉制方案以及回應其他修訂要求。