Our Services

Resources Centre

Frequently Asked Questions
e-Booking Service

Title Registration

“New Land First” Proposal

Introduction


  • To enable early implementation of title registration system in Hong Kong, the Land Registry (“LR”) is actively pursuing the “new land first” proposal (“the Proposal”). Support in principle for the Proposal has been obtained from all key stakeholders subject to some outstanding issues to be resolved.
  • Under the Proposal, title registration will be implemented on new land first (see the meaning of “new land” under “Definition of New Land” below), while the conversion of the existing land (“LRO land”) which is the subject of a Government lease with a register (“LRO register”) kept under the Land Registration Ordinance (Cap. 128) (“LRO”) will continue to be pursued and considered in a subsequent legislative exercise.
 
Salient Features of Title Registration System under the Proposal
  • Salient features of the title registration system under the Proposal are: 

    • Provision of indemnity

      Under the current deeds registration system, innocent parties who suffer loss as a result of loss of ownership of their properties in fraud cases can only recover their loss from the fraudsters, which may not be fruitful as the fraudsters would probably have absconded when the fraud is discovered.

      Under the title registration system, indemnity is, subject to a cap, available to persons who suffer loss due to property fraud that causes an entry being made in, or removed or omitted from the Title Register and results in the loss of ownership. Parties entitled to indemnity can claim against the Land Titles Indemnity Fund to be set up under the Land Titles Ordinance (Cap. 585) (“LTO”) as compensator of first resort without having to first pursue remedies against the fraudsters.

    • Application of caution mechanism

      Under the LRO, only instruments affecting land can be accepted for registration and shown on the land register. Uncertainty may arise as a potential purchaser cannot solely rely on the land register to ascertain whether there are any unwritten interests which may affect the property.

      The title registration system introduces a caution mechanism for all persons to have their interests or claims (whether in writing or unwritten) noted and protected by registration of a caution on the Title Register. The general principle is that a registered owner is not bound by any prior unregistered interests. This encourages holders or claimants of interests in land to register a caution in respect of their interests or claims as soon as possible.

    • Mandatory issuance of title certificates

      Under the current deeds registration system, no title certificate is issued by the LR. A property owner is required to keep all title documents relating to the property and produce the same to the purchaser in a sale of property in order to prove his title to the property.

      Under the title registration system, the Title Register is conclusive evidence of the title to the property and a purchaser is not required to look behind the Title Register and check the historical title documents of the property. To help industry practitioners to verify the identity of property owners, having considered the majority of the key stakeholders’ inclination and with reference to overseas experience, title certificates with advanced security features are proposed to be issued mandatorily to property owners. When an owner sells his property, the title certificate is required to be returned to the LR for cancellation together with the application for registration of the sale.

Benefits of the Proposal
  • The Proposal will secure an early start of title registration in Hong Kong which will enable the public and industry practitioners to enjoy the benefits of title registration system earlier. Issues relating to the conversion of existing LRO land such as the handling of the LRO registers with indeterminate ownership can be dealt with at a later stage. It will enable the LR to focus its resources on setting up the title registration system and consolidate actual experience gained from running the title registration system. Getting title registration started on new land first will also have a demonstrative effect that will help build support for the extension of the new registration system to existing LRO land. As compared to finalising the mechanism for conversion of the existing LRO land, the implementation of title registration on new land is relatively straightforward. The task of preparing an amendment bill for implementing title registration on new land will also be simpler.
  • Title certainty and indefeasible title are the major benefits of a title registration system. Purchasers or interested parties can rely on the Title Register to ascertain the ownership of the property. Under the Proposal, to achieve title certainty, the mandatory rectification (“MR”) rule under section 82(3) of the LTO shall not apply to new land. In other words, immediate indefeasibility of title (meaning a bona fide purchaser for valuable consideration and in possession of the property will get immediate indefeasible title) shall apply from the first day of the implementation of title registration system.
  • Under the Proposal, after commencement of the title registration system, new land will immediately enjoy the following status or benefits:

    (a)
    Title certainty – the Title Register shall be conclusive evidence of title;


    (b)
    Indefeasible title – bona fide purchasers of new land for valuable consideration and in possession of the land will be entitled to immediate indefeasibility of title upon registration as owner. The MR rule will not apply;


    (c)
    Simplified conveyancing – title will only be subject to registered matters appearing on the Title Register, except for overriding interests (i.e. interests that affect the property notwithstanding that they are not registered, e.g. public rights and leases[1] for a term not exceeding 3 years); and


    (d)
    Indemnity – indemnity, subject to a cap, will be available to persons who suffer loss due to property fraud that causes an entry being made in, or removed or omitted from the Title Register and results in the loss of ownership; and indemnity, without a cap, will be payable for losses suffered due to errors in the Title Register caused by mistake or omission of the LR staff.


[1] Where the lessee is to take possession of the property forthwith under the lease at the best rent without a premium.

Definition of New Land
  • The definition of new land under the Proposal has been explored by the LR in consultation with the Lands Department and the key stakeholders. It is proposed that the definition of new land under section 20 of the LTO (“section 20 definition”) be adopted as the scope of new land under the Proposal. According to the section 20 definition, subject to the stated exceptions, new land basically covers all new Government grants on or after the appointed day for the commencement of the LTO (“the appointed day”), and will include land granted by way of land sale (auction or tender), private treaty grant and land exchange.
  • The exceptions to the new land definition have been under review. Taking into account comments received from the key stakeholders and after consultation with the Development Bureau, the Lands Department and the Department of Justice, it is considered that amendments to the section 20 definition are needed to reflect the policy intent regarding the exceptions to new land.
  • In gist, it is proposed that new land under the Proposal means land granted under a Government lease or an agreement for a Government lease on or after the appointed day with a lease term expressed to run from or after the appointed day, but does not include:

    (a)
    land granted under a short term tenancy (i.e. with a term of not more than 7 years);

    (b)
    land that is the subject of an instrument executed on or after the appointed day for the primary purpose of extending the lease term or the area of land that is the subject of a Government lease or an agreement for a Government lease in effect immediately before the appointed day;

    (c)
    land held under a Government lease deemed to be granted under Part II of the Government Leases Ordinance (Cap. 40); and

    (d)
    land held under a Government lease granted, or deemed to be granted under section 14 of the Conveyancing and Property Ordinance (Cap. 219), on or after the appointed day pursuant to an agreement for a Government lease which was in effect immediately before the appointed day.
LRO Land Continues to be Governed by the LRO
  • Under the Proposal, title registration system will apply to new land first, and the existing LRO land will continue to be dealt with and registered under the current deeds registration system and existing laws. Parallel running of two registration systems is not uncommon in overseas jurisdictions. For example, in England and Wales, Ireland, Scotland and Singapore, parallel running of title registration system and its original land registration system has lasted or has been lasting for a relatively long period of time. It is noted that such parallel running of registration systems has not caused confusion in the jurisdictions concerned.
  • Implementing title registration on new land first will allow the industry practitioners, the public and the LR to familiarise with the operation of the new system without disturbing the current deeds registration system. It will also provide solid experience for the Government and the stakeholders to deliberate on the mechanism for the conversion of existing LRO land. The LR will keep in view the progress of the implementation of title registration system on new land. After a few years of implementing title registration on new land and subject to the reaching of consensus with the key stakeholders on the conversion mechanism, another legislative exercise will be commenced to extend the title registration system to existing LRO land.
LTO Land and LRO Land
  • Individual title registers will be opened for properties registered under the LTO. Similar to the unique Property Reference Number (“PRN”) assigned to each LRO register, each individual title register will bear a unique reference number called Title Number (“TN”). A person can easily differentiate a title register from a LRO register. If the register contains a TN, it is a title register. Alternatively, if the register contains a PRN, it is a LRO register. The online services of the Integrated Registration Information System will be enhanced so that a common platform will be available to support online search of both the LRO and LTO records. By entering the lot number or address of the property concerned on the common platform, the system will direct searchers to the relevant LRO register (with PRN shown) or title register (with TN shown) as the case may be.
  • Before the commencement of title registration system on new land, the LR will prepare guidance notes and provide briefings and training on title registration system to the industry practitioners. Publicity and public education programmes will also be arranged to enlighten the practitioners and the public on the new registration system.

资源中心

常见问题
供《银行业条例》(第155章)下的认可机构订购的电子提示服务
电子预约服务

业权注册

「新土地先行」方案

引言


  • 为早日在香港实施业权注册制度,土地注册处(本处)正积极推动「新土地先行」方案(「新土地」方案),所有主要持份者已表示原则上支持,惟仍有一些问题尚待解决。
  • 根据「新土地」方案,业权注册制度将于新土地(「新土地」的意义见下文第9段)先行实施。至于现有土地(《土注条例》土地)(即政府租契授予的土地,并有一份根据《土地注册条例》(第128章)(《土注条例》)为该土地备存的土地登记册(《土注条例》登记册)的转制问题,本处会继续研究并在将来另行立法。
「新土地」方案下业权注册制度的主要特点
  • 「新土地」方案下业权注册制度的主要特点如下:

    • 提供弥偿

      在现行的契约注册制度下,在欺诈案件中丧失物业拥有权而蒙受损失的不知情人士只能向欺诈者追讨损失。由于欺诈者往往已在欺诈被发现前逃逸,追讨行动未必有成效。

      在业权注册制度下,任何人因物业欺诈导致业权注册纪录作出、移除或遗漏记项而丧失拥有权所蒙受的损失,可获设有上限的弥偿。符合资格申请弥偿的人士可以先向根据《土地业权条例》(第585章)(《业权条例》)设立的土地业权弥偿基金索偿,不用先向欺诈者追讨损失。

    • 警告书的应用

      根据《土注条例》,只有影响土地的文书方可获接受注册并显示在土地登记册上。由于准买家不能只信赖土地登记册来确定是否有任何可能会影响物业的不成文权益,不确定性可能会出现。

      业权注册制度引进警告书机制,让所有人可透过于业权注册纪录上注册警告书以注明及保障其土地权益或申索(不论以书面形式与否)。一般原则是注册业主不受任何没有注册的先前权益约束。这个机制鼓励土地权益持有人或申索人尽快将有关权益或申索的警告书注册。

    • 强制发出业权证明书

      在现行的契约注册制度下,本处不会发出业权证明书。物业业主须保管有关物业的业权文件,并在出售物业时提供予买家以证明物业的业权。

      在业权注册制度下,业权注册纪录是物业业权不可推翻的证据,买家无须查考业权注册纪录以外的资料和翻查物业以往的业权文件。为协助业界从业员核实物业业主的身分,在考虑过大部分主要持份者的意向和参考海外经验后,现建议强制向物业业主发出具有先进防伪特征的业权证明书。当业主出售物业,在提交有关买卖的注册申请时,业权证明书须一并交回本处注销。

「新土地」方案的优点
  • 「新土地」方案可让香港早日开始实施业权注册,令公众和业界从业员尽早受惠于新制度,至于与现有《土注条例》土地转换机制相关的事宜(例如如何处理拥有权不确定的《土注条例》登记册)则可容后处理。此举可让本处集中资源设立业权注册制度,并整合由新制度运作取得的实际经验。在新土地先行实施业权注册亦具有示范作用,有助争取各方支持把新注册制度扩展至现有的《土注条例》土地。与要就现有的《土注条例》土地的转换机制作最终定案相比,先行在新土地实施业权注册比较直接,而且拟备在新土地实施业权注册的修订条例草案工作也较为简单。
  • 业权明确和不可推翻业权是业权注册制度的主要优点。买家和相关人士可信赖业权注册纪录,以确定物业的拥有权。在「新土地」方案下,为达到业权明确的目的,《业权条例》第82(3)条的「强制更正」规则并不适用于新土地;换言之,在业权注册制度实施的首日起,新土地享有即时不可推翻的业权(即已付出有值代价并管有有关物业的真诚买家将获得即时不可推翻的业权)。
  • 根据「新土地」方案,当业权注册制度生效后,新土地将会立即享有以下地位和好处:

    (a)
    业权明确 — 业权注册纪录是业权不可推翻的证据;

    (b)
    不可推翻的业权 — 已付出有值代价并管有新土地的真诚买家注册为拥有人后,可享有业权即时不可推翻的权利,而「强制更正」规则并不适用;

    (c)
    简化物业转易程序 — 新土地的业权只受业权注册纪录内已注册事项制约,凌驾性权益(指即使没有注册但仍会影响土地的权益,例如公众权利及租期不超过3年的租契[1])除外;以及

    (d)
    弥偿 — 任何人因物业欺诈导致业权注册纪录作出、移除或遗漏记项而丧失拥有权所蒙受的损失,可获设有上限的弥偿;而因本处职员出错或遗漏导致业权注册纪录错误而蒙受的损失,则可获没有上限的弥偿。


[1] 承租人根据该租契即时管有该物业,且租金为在无须支付额外费用的情况下的最佳租金者。

 
新土地的定义
  • 本处在谘询地政总署和主要持份者后,已就「新土地」方案下新土地的定义进行研究。现建议采纳《业权条例》第20条就新土地所下的定义(「第20条的定义」)作为该方案下新土地的涵盖范围。根据「第20条的定义」,除条文所载的例外情况外,新土地基本上涵盖政府在《业权条例》指定实施日期(指定日期)或之后经由新批政府租契授予的所有土地,并包括透过卖地(拍卖或招标)、私人协约及换地方式授予的土地。
  • 有关新土地定义的例外情况已经过检讨,在考虑主要持份者的意见及谘询发展局、地政总署和律政司后,现认为须就「第20条的定义」作出修订,以反映新土地例外情况的政策原意。
  • 概括来说,现建议「新土地」方案下的「新土地」是指由政府在《业权条例》指定日期或之后根据政府租契或政府租契协议授予而其租契年期示明由指定日期或之后起计算的土地,但不包括以下土地:

    (a)
    以短期租约(即年期不超过7年)授予的土地;

    (b)
    在指定日期或之后主要为延展租契年期或扩大土地范围而签立的文书所涉及的土地,并在紧接指定日期之前属有效的政府租契或政府租契协议所授予的土地;

    (c)
    根据《政府租契条例》(第4 0章)第II部当作授予的政府租契下的土地;以及

    (d)
    按照在紧接指定日期之前已生效的政府租契协议于指定日期或之后授予或根据《物业转易及财产条例》(第219章)第14条当作授予的政府租契下的土地。
 
《土注条例》土地继续受《土注条例》规管
  • 根据「新土地」方案,业权注册制度首先会应用于新土地,而现有的《土注条例》土地则会继续按照现行的契约注册制度和法律处理及办理注册。在其他海外司法管辖区,两种注册制度并行运作并非不普遍,例如在英格兰和威尔斯、爱尔兰、苏格兰和新加坡,业权注册制度与原来的土地注册制度曾经或仍在并行运作相当长的时间,而两种制度并行也没有在相关司法管辖区引致混乱。
  • 在新土地先行实施业权注册制度,可让业界从业员、公众和本处在不干扰现行契约注册制度的情况下熟习新制度的运作,并让政府和持份者汲取实际经验以商讨转换现有《土注条例》土地的机制。本处将会留意在新土地实施业权注册制度的进展情况,待这制度在新土地实行数年,以及与主要持份者就转换机制达成共识后,展开另一轮立法工作,把业权注册制度扩展至现有的《土注条例》土地。
《业权条例》土地及《土注条例》土地
  • 本处会为根据《业权条例》注册的物业开立个别业权注册纪录。正如每份《土注条例》登记册会获编配一个独有的物业参考编号,每份个别业权注册纪录也备有一个名为业权编号的独有参考编号。任何人士都可容易分辨业权注册纪录和《土注条例》登记册。备有业权编号的登记册是业权注册纪录,而备有物业参考编号的登记册则是《土注条例》登记册。本处将会提升「综合注册资讯系统」网上服务,以便在同一平台支援网上查阅《土注条例》和《业权条例》土地纪录。只要在该共用平台输入有关物业的地段编号或地址,「综合注册资讯系统」便会按不同情况把查册人士导往相关的《土注条例》登记册(显示物业参考编号)或业权注册纪录(显示业权编号)。
  • 在新土地实施业权注册制度前,本处会就该制度拟备指引,并为业界从业员举行简介会和提供培训,以及进行宣传和公众教育活动,增加业界人士和公众对新注册制度的认识。