Resources Centre

Public Services

e-Alert Service for Authorized Institutions under the Banking Ordinance (Cap.155)

The Hong Kong Monetary Authority ("HKMA") notices that there have been cases where mortgage borrowers have further mortgaged their properties without seeking prior consent from the original mortgagee Authorized Institutions ("AIs") (i.e. licensed banks, restricted licence banks and deposit-taking companies). Such practices have increased the risks of the relevant AIs and may pose a threat to banking stability if left unchecked.

At the request of the HKMA, the Land Registry has launched an e-Alert Service for AIs from 1 February 2017 in order to help enhance AIs' credit risk management. Under the e-Alert Service for AIs, AIs will receive electronic notifications from the Land Registry when further charge/mortgage documents in respect of the properties mortgaged to the AIs concerned are lodged for registration with the Land Registry. The HKMA expects AIs engaging in mortgage lending business to subscribe to the e-Alert Service for all new mortgage loan applications (including top-up mortgage loans) from 1 February 2017.

To subscribe to the e-Alert Service, AIs must obtain written consent from the property owner concerned in compliance with the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance (Cap. 486). As the property owner, if you give your consent by signing the consent form, you may also opt to receive same electronic notifications relating to your property issued by the Land Registry under the e-Alert Service for AIs.



e-Channel for the e-Alert Service for AIs

In line with the global trend towards electronic business and to provide greater security and convenience to the AIs for submission of service applications for the e-Alert Service as well as to increase the operational efficiency of both the AIs and the Land Registry, we have implemented an e-Channel for the e-Alert Service for AIs ("the e-Channel") under a two-phase approach.

The Land Registry has launched Phase 1 of the e-Channel on 14 January 2019 to accept subscriber AIs' online submission of their applications for subscription of service orders through the e-Channel website at www.ealert-ai.landreg.gov.hk which provides longer service hours as follows:

  • Monday to Friday 8 am to 8 pm
  • Saturday 8 am to 12 noon

With the launch of Phase 2 of the e-Channel on 20 July 2020, new facility for online submission of other service applications such as opening of branch account, transfer or termination of service orders; and more user functions including maintenance and enquiry of account information, payment by e-Cheque have been added to the e-Channel to bring even greater convenience to AIs in using the service.

Following the full implementation of the e-Channel on 1 February 2021, subscriber AIs can submit all their service applications (except application for subscriber account) online through the e-Channel. Manual submission of applications by subscriber AIs’ authorized representatives or by postal/courier service is no longer accepted.

To ensure safe and secure online transactions, only registered users of subscriber AIs are allowed to access the e-Channel and two-factor user authentication (i.e. a unique e-Channel Login ID assigned by the Land Registry to the registered user and a Digital Certificate (Organizational) issued by the Postmaster General (Hongkong Post Certification Authority) and registered by the subscriber AI concerned with the Land Registry) is adopted to strengthen the authentication control. Data transmission between subscriber AIs' workstations and our system is encrypted to prevent unauthorized access or tampering.



What can the e-Alert notification give you?

  • You will receive an email alert when a charge/mortgage document is delivered to the Land Registry for registration against your property, normally on the day following the date on which the document is delivered to the Land Registry for registration.
  • You will get relevant particulars of the document, including the date, memorial number, nature and date of delivery for registration, from the email notification.
  • By using the memorial number provided in the email notification, you may order a copy of the charge/mortgage document for reference upon completion of registration and payment of the prescribed fee of HK$100.


How is the e-Alert notification useful for you?

  • It saves you time and money as well as provides an easy and convenient means for you to keep track of charge/mortgage documents delivered for registration against your property.
  • It facilitates you to take appropriate and prompt action if unexpected charge/mortgage documents were submitted for registration against your property.


How much is the subscription fee for the e-Alert notification?

  • The Land Registry will only charge AIs for their subscription to the Service. You may opt to receive the e-Alert notification relating to your property by simply signing the consent form and providing your email address in the consent form. The Land Registry will not charge you any fee for such a notification arrangement. The Service will cover the whole term of the mortgage as long as you do not withdraw the given consent.


What will follow after signing of the consent form?

  • Following your signing of the consent form and after completion of all the formalities of the AI and the Land Registry, the Land Registry will send an email to your email address for verification and privacy protection purposes within 3 calendar days from its approval of the service order application submitted by the AI.


Enquiries

For enquiries, please contact us by

Calling our e-Alert Service Hotline at 3521 1900
Writing to:The Land Registry
  19th Floor, Queensway Government Offices
  66 Queensway
  Hong Kong
  (e-Alert Service for Authorized Institutions)
  or
  The Land Registry
  Freepost No.10
  Hong Kong
  (e-Alert Service for Authorized Institutions)
Fax No.:3114 7030
E-mail:e-Alert-ai@landreg.gov.hk

资源中心

常见问题
供《银行业条例》(第155章)下的认可机构订购的电子提示服务
电子预约服务

公共服务

供《银行业条例》(第155章)下的认可机构订购的电子提示服务

香港金融管理局("金管局")注意到有按揭借款人在未获得第一承按认可机构(即持牌银行、有限制牌照银行及接受存款公司)事先同意的情况下,擅自以同一物业借取额外按揭贷款的个案。这些行为会增加相关认可机构的风险,若情况不受遏止,可能会威胁银行体系稳定。

因应金管局的要求,本处于2017年2月1日推出供认可机构订购的电子提示服务,以助提升认可机构对按揭贷款的风险管理。透过这项服务,每当认可机构已承按的物业有再按押记/按揭文件交付本处办理注册时,相关认可机构便会收到本处发出的电子提示讯息。由2017年2月1日起,金管局期望从事按揭贷款业务的认可机构就所有新造按揭(包括加按贷款)的贷款申请,订购电子提示服务。

认可机构如欲订购电子提示服务,必须按《个人资料(私隐)条例》(第486章)的规定,先获得相关物业业主的书面同意。身为业主的你,如签署了同意书以示同意有关认可机构订购这项服务,便可以选择收取同样由本处为这项服务就你物业发出的电子提示通知书。



为认可机构的电子提示服务开设电子渠道

为配合电子商贸的环球性趋势,并令认可机构更安全和方便地向本处递交电子提示服务的申请,以及提升双方的运作效率,本处已为认可机构的电子提示服务开设电子渠道,项目分两阶段进行。

第一阶段的电子渠道项目已于2019年1月14日推出,认可机构可透过延长了服务时间的电子渠道网页 ( www.ealert-ai.landreg.gov.hk)在网上提交电子提示服务订单申请。

  • 星期一至星期五 上午8时 至 晚上8时
  • 星期六 上午8时 至 正午12时

而第二阶段的电子渠道项目亦于2020年7月20日推出。本处把经网上提交申请的服务扩展至其他服务项目,包括为用户开立分行账户,转移或终止服务订单,并新增更多用户功能,包括帐户资料管理及查询;及接纳电子支票付款等,为认可机构的登记用户在使用电子提示服务时带来更多方便。

随着电子渠道于2021年2月1日起全面推行,认可机构的登记用户可经电子渠道在网上提交所有服务申请,本处亦不再接受认可机构透过其获授权代表或以邮寄/速递方式递交的服务申请。

由2021年6月28日起,认可机构若想申请开立登记用户账户,除了可亲身到本处办理申请,亦可在网上递交申请,以订购电子提示服务。

为确保网上交易能在安全和稳妥的情况下进行,电子渠道所提供的服务只供认可机构的登记用户使用。本处亦采用双重用户认证方式,以加强登入电子渠道系统的核证管控。换言之,认可机构的登记用户必须使用本处编配的独有电子渠道登入识别码,以及由邮政署署长(香港邮政核证机关)签发并已在本处登记的电子证书(机构)作为登入核证。此外,认可机构用户的电脑与本处电子渠道系统之间的数据传输亦已加密,以防止被人未经授权登入或干扰。



电子提示通知书能为你提供什么讯息?

  • 每当有涉及你的物业的押记/按揭文件交付本处注册,你便会收到电邮提示(通常会在有关文件交付本处注册的翌日收到)。
  • 你可以从电邮通知书知道有关文件的相关资料,包括文件日期、注册摘要编号、文件性质及文件交付注册的日期。
  • 在押记/按揭文件完成注册后,你可以透过电邮通知书提供的注册摘要编号,订购文件的副本(须缴付订明费用港币$100),参阅有关内容。


电子提示通知书对你有什么好处?

  • 电子提示通知书可让你以省时、省钱和简易便捷的方式,掌握有否涉及你的物业的押记/按揭文件交付本处注册。
  • 如果有涉及你的物业的押记/按揭文件在你预期之外交付本处注册,电子提示通知书便有助你迅速采取适当行动。


订购电子提示通知书的费用是多少?

  • 本处只会向认可机构收取订购电子提示服务的费用。你只须签妥同意书,并在同意书上提供你的电邮地址,便可选择收取就你的物业发出的电子提示通知书,本处不会就这项提示通知的安排向你收取任何费用。除非你日后撤回该同意书,否则电子提示服务在整段按揭期内均有效。


签妥同意书后有什么程序?

  • 当你签妥同意书,并在认可机构及本处完成所有相关手续后,本处会于认可机构提交的服务订购申请获批后3个历日内,发送电邮至你的电邮地址以作核实及保障私隐之用。


查询

如有查询,请通过以下途径联络我们:

致电本处的电子提示服务热线 3521 1900
邮寄 土地注册处
    香港金钟道66号
    金钟道政府合署19楼
    (供认可机构订购的电子提示服务)
   
    土地注册处
    香港简便回邮10号
    (供认可机构订购的电子提示服务)
传真号码 3114 7030
电邮地址 e-Alert-ai@landreg.gov.hk