Land Registry Circular Memorandum No. 5/05

1 December 2005

This circular provides information on Land Registry practice on withholding instruments from registration and revises the list of documents permitted to be presented even if not in compliance with Regulation 9(1) of the Land Registration Regulations (Cap.128 subleg).

Withholding Instruments from Registration

2. There are a number of reasons for the Land Registry withholding registration of an instrument presented to us. In most cases a simple, avoidable error has occurred. These errors cause more work for the Registry and for the lodging party. They can lead to additional costs and, if the instrument is not corrected or withdrawn, can cause complications for future dealings in a property.

3. To help those responsible for preparing instruments to avoid or correct such errors before lodgment, we have prepared a list of common reasons for withholding instruments, incorporating guidelines on correct procedures. The list is attached to this circular. It may be read in conjunction with our 'Memorial Form Easy Guide' which is available on our website (, together with copies of all earlier Land Office or Land Registry Circular Memoranda. A copy of the list will be posted to the website shortly. Future amendments or additions will be added to our website copy.

4. I trust that these guidelines will be of help to all those responsible for preparing instruments for registration. Within the Land Registry we have reviewed our procedures for withholding instruments to improve the quality of service. We welcome any suggestions or requests for further clarification that you may have so that we can further improve service and reduce the number of instruments that have to be withheld. A contact number and e-mail address are given below.

Exemptions from compliance with specifications for size and form of instruments

5. LRCM No. 15/96 set out five types of document which would be accepted even if they did not comply with requirements as to size and form set out in Regulation 9(1) of the Land Registration Regulations. The Land Registrar's consent is required on a case by case basis for any other type of document to be accepted if it does not comply with the regulation. A copy of this LRCM is attached for ease of reference.

6. With immediate effect, Provisional Agreements for Sale and Purchase are added to the list of documents for which general permission is granted for their lodgment in cases where they do not comply with the regulation. No individual consent is required in respect of non complying documents of this type in future.

7. This change is a response to the genuine difficulty some lodging parties face in influencing the form of these documents before they are prepared. Whenever you are able to advise on the form of a Provisional Agreement for Sale and Purchase we do recommend using the form and size of document set out in the Regulations since this makes the imaging of the documents much more straightforward.

8. For any enquiries on this circular, please contact our Customer Service Manager, Ms Winnie CHEUNG (now changed to Ms Eva LAU), at 3105 0000 or e-mail to us at

资源中心

常见问题
供《银行业条例》(第155章)下的认可机构订购的电子提示服务
电子注册摘要表格
电子预约服务

土地注册处通函

土 地 注 册 处 通 函 第 5/05 号

二零零五年十二月一日
本通函旨在阐述本处中止为文书注册的一贯做法,并修订如不符合《土地注册规例》(第128章附属法例)第9(1)条仍可获接纳交付的文件类别。

中 止 为 文 书 注 册

2. 本处中止为已交付的文书注册,原因很多。在大部分情况下,是由于文书上出现了可以避免的轻微错误。这些错误使本处和交契人士的工作量增多,还会引致额外的开支。如文书不加更改或撤回,可能会使日后的物业交易变得复杂。

3. 为协助拟备文书的人士避免犯错,或在交付前更正错误,本处已制备一份中止为文书注册的一般原因的清单,当中载有正确程序的指引。这份清单夹附于本通函,可与本处网站(http://www.landreg.gov.hk)上的「注册摘要表格指南」,以及前田土注册处或土地注册处的各份通函一并参阅。这份清单会于稍后上存本处网站。日后如有修订或增补,亦会加入网上版本内。

4. 本处相信这些指引对拟备文书以供注册的人士会有所帮助。本处亦已检讨有关中止为文书注册的内部程序,以期提高服务质素。欢迎你提出建议或查询,让本处进一步改善服务,从而减少须中止注册文书的数目。在下文可找到本处的联络电话和电邮地址。



豁 免 符 合 文 书 尺 寸 和 格 式 规 定 的 情 况

5. 土地注册处通函第15/96号(只提供英文版本)载列了五类文件,可在未能符合《土地注册规例》第9(1)条订明的尺寸和格式规定下,获接纳注册。至于其他类别的文件,如未能符合该条文的规定,则须按个别情况经土地注册处处长同意,方可注册。现夹附这份通函,以供参考。

6. 由即日起,临时买卖协议亦被加入该豁免清单内。日后,这类文件如不符合上述条文的规定,本处都允许其交付注册,无须个别征求同意。

7. 这项修订是因应一些交契人士确实难以在拟备文件前修改文件的格式而作出。如可行的话,本处仍建议你根据规例订明的文件格式和尺寸,制定临时买卖协议,以便本处能更有效率地扫描这些文件。

8. 如对本通函有任何查询,请致电本处客户服务经理张丽贞女士(现更改为蔡绣文女士)(电话:3105 0000),或以电邮方式与我们联络(电邮地址:csa@landreg.gov.hk)。


Kim Salkeld's signature

土地注册处处长苏启龙