Land Registry Circular Memorandum No. 2/01

3 August 2001

Land Registers and Personal Data Privacy

1. Since the commencement of the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance ("PDPO") in December 1996, some members of the public have expressed concern about the personal data contained in the public registers.

2. The purposes of the land records are to prevent secret and fraudulent conveyances, and to provide means whereby the titles to real and immovable property may be easily traced and ascertained. Any information, including personal data, contained in instruments and memorials lodged for registration will appear in the public land registers kept by the Land Registry. All documents are open for public search and inspection.

3. Principle 1 (3) in Schedule 1 of the PDPO requires that the data subjects be explicitly informed before the collection of personal data of the purpose for which the data are to be used and the classes of persons to whom the data may be transferred.

4. As the personal data for the preparation of instruments are collected before the instruments are submitted for registration in this office, I write to ask you to ensure that all practicable steps are taken to comply with Principle 1 (3) in Schedule 1 of the PDPO by informing the data subjects that upon registration of documents in the Land Registry the personal data contained therein will become open to public search and inspection.

5. For enquiries, please contact the Customer Service Manager, Mr. Kwok Wai-yuen (now changed to Ms. Eva LAU), at 2867 2882 (now changed to 3105 0000) or the Personal Data Privacy Officer, Mrs. Cynthia So (now changed to Mr. W C YUEN) at 2867 8008 (now changed to 2867 8050).



Kim Salkeld's signature
(Kim SALKELD)
Land Registrar

资源中心

常见问题
供《银行业条例》(第155章)下的认可机构订购的电子提示服务
电子注册摘要表格
电子预约服务

土地注册处通函

土 地 注 册 处 通 函 第 2/01 号

二 零 零 一 年 八 月 三 日

土 地 登 记 册 及 个 人 资 料 私 隐

 

  1. 自《 个 人 资 料 ( 私 隐 ) 条 例 》 在 一 九 九 六 年 十 二 月 生 效 以 来 , 有 部 分 市 民 对 公 众 登 记 册 所 载 的 个 人 资 料 表 示 关 注 。
  2. 备 存 土 地 登 记 旨 在 防 止 秘 密 和 有 欺 诈 成 分 的 物 业 转 易 , 以 及 提 供 容 易 追 溯 和 确 定 土 地 财 产 及 不 动 产 业 权 的 方 法 。 送 交 注 册 文 书 和 注 册 摘 要 载 列 的 所 有 资 料 , 包 括 个 人 资 料 , 均 会 载 于 土 地 注 册 处 备 存 的 土 地 登 记 册 内 。 所 有 文 件 都 会 公 开 给 公 众 查 阅 。
  3. 《 个 人 资 料 ( 私 隐 ) 条 例 》 附 表 1 原 则 1 (3) 规 定 , 在 收 集 资 料 前 , 必 须 明 确 告 知 资 料 当 事 人 该 等 资 料 将 用 于 什 么 目 的 和 可 能 移 转 予 什 么 类 别 的 人 。
  4. 因 拟 备 文 书 而 收 集 的 个 人 资 料 是 在 文 书 送 交 本 处 注 册 前 进 行 的 , 现 特 致 函 提 醒 各 位 必 须 遵 守 《 个 人 资 料( 私 隐 ) 条 例 》 附 表 1 原则 1 (3) 的 规 定 , 并 采 取 所 有 切 实 可 行 的 步 骤 , 清 楚 告 知 资 料 当 事 人 文 件 经 土 地 注 册 处 注 册 后 , 当 中 所 载 的 个 人 资 料 均 会 公 开 给 公 众 查 阅 。
  5. 如 有 查 询 , 请 致 电 2867 2882 (现 更 改 为 3105 0000) 与 本 处 客 户 服 务 经 理 郭 炜 源 先 生 (现 更 改 为 蔡 绣 文 女 士) 联 络 , 或 致 电 2867 8008 (现 更 改 为 2867 8050) 与 本 处 保 障 个 人 资 料 (私 隐) 主 任 苏 文 曼 梨 女 士 (现 更 改 为 梁 慧 娴 女 士) 联 络 。

苏启龙的签名
苏 启 龙
土 地 注 册 处 处 长