Land Registry Circular Memorandum No. 6/07

3 December 2007

This circular announces the changes to the practices of the Land Registry in withholding instruments from registration and to the requirement for documentary proof for application for refund of registration fee in respect of instruments with no or nominal consideration.

Withholding Instruments from Registration

2. With a view to reducing the number of instruments required to be withheld from registration, the Land Registry issued a Circular Memorandum No. 5/05 in December 2005, attaching a list of common reasons for withholding instruments incorporating guidelines on correct procedures. We have reviewed the effect of this Circular Memorandum. It appears to have been beneficial to lodging parties and will be maintained. In addition, we have decided to introduce the following changes in relation to completion of Memorial in order to further simplify certain matters for the lodging parties and for the Land Registry:

(a) Requirement for inserting "official address not yet known" on Memorial
In accordance with Land Office Circular Memorandum No. 89, it has been a requirement for lodging parties to insert the words "official address not yet known" in the Memorial for premises where the address is not yet known.

With immediate effect, the Land Registry no longer requires the lodging parties to insert "official address not yet known" in the Memorial for those cases where the address is not yet known.

We will continue the practice of withholding instruments from registration where the address of the premises affected is known but has not been inserted in the Memorial.

(b) Requirement for inserting "Chinese address not known" on Memorial
The provision introduced in the Land Registration (Amendment) Ordinance 2002 on specifying the Chinese address in Memorial came into effect when the Land Registry launched its Integrated Registration Information System in February 2005. Since then, lodging parties have been required to specify the Chinese address of the premises (if known) or insert the words "Chinese address not known" (if Chinese address is not known) in the Memorial.

With immediate effect, the Land Registry no longer requires the lodging parties to insert "Chinese address not known" in the Memorial when the Land Register contains no information on the Chinese address.

We will continue the practice of withholding instruments where the Chinese address of the premises affected is already shown on the land register but the same has not been inserted in the Memorial.

(c) Slight deviation of the property description in Chinese from the description in English
Unless there is a contradiction or ambiguity between the Chinese and English addresses of the properties, the Land Registry will not withhold instruments from registration simply because of slight deviation of the property description in Chinese from the description in English as stated in Memorial. For example, "3樓B單位" for "Flat B on 3/F", "九龍旺角彌敦道101號" for "101 Nathan Road, Kowloon", etc.

 

Documentary proof for application for refund of registration fee for instruments with no or nominal consideration

3. As stated in Land Registry Circular Memorandum No. 1/95, the registration fee chargeable for instruments with no or nominal consideration shall be at the same level as that applicable to an instrument with a consideration exceeding $750,000. Therefore, the fee of $450 payable under item 1(b) in the Schedule to the Land Registration Fees Regulations will be charged for instruments with no or nominal consideration. The said Circular stated that an application for refund of registration fee would be considered upon production of evidence which shows that a lesser amount of registration fee should have been charged. Generally, the Land Registry has only accepted an assessment on property value by the Rating and Valuation Department as supporting evidence in an application for refund of registration fee.

4. The Land Registry has decided to expand the scope of acceptable documentary proof to include either:

  1. a currently issued valuation report for the affected premises from an estate surveyor; or
  2. currently issued written confirmation of the property value of the affected premises from a financial institution.

5. For any enquiries on this circular, please contact our Customer Service Manager, Ms Allan CHAN (now changed to Ms Eva LAU), at 3105 0000 or e-mail to us at csa@landreg.gov.hk

土 地 註 冊 處 通 函 第 6/07 號

二零零七年十二月三日

土地註冊處對中止為文書註冊的一貫做法,以及對就沒有代價或只有象徵式代價的文書申請退還註冊費用須提交文件證明的規定已作修訂。本通函現公布有關修訂內容。

中止為文書註冊

2. 為減少須中止註冊的文書數量,本處在二零零五年十二月發出第 5/05 號通函,並附清單列明中止為文書註冊的一般原因,當中載有正確程序的指引。本處已覆檢該通函的成效,認為該通函可為文書交付人帶來幫助。此外,我們決定就填寫註冊摘要事宜加入下列修訂,以進一步簡化交付人及本處須處理的事項:

(a)
在註冊摘要上填寫 "尚未知悉正式地址" 字句的要求
根據土地註冊處通函第 89 號 (只提供英文版),如果交契人士尚未知悉有關處所的地址,便須在註冊摘要上填寫 "尚未知悉正式地址" 字句。
由即時起,本處不再要求交契人士在註冊摘要上為未知地址的處所填寫 "尚未知悉正式地址" 字句。
受影響處所的地址如已知悉但並沒有填入註冊摘要內,本處會繼續中止為該文書辦理註冊。
(b)
在註冊摘要上填寫 "中文地址不詳" 字句的要求
二零零五年二月本處推出「綜合註冊資訊系統」時,《2002年土地註冊(修訂)修例》中有關在註冊摘要上須註明中文地址的條文同時生效,自此規定交契人士如果知悉處所的中文地址,必須在註冊摘要上註明該中文地址。否則,便須填寫 "中文地址不詳" 。
由即時起,如相關的土地登記冊並無有關中文地址的資料,本處不再要求交契人士在註冊摘要上填寫 "中文地址不詳" 字句。
受影響處所的地址如已顯示在土地登記冊上但並沒有填入註冊摘要內,本處會繼續中止為該文書辦理註冊。
(c)
物業的中文地址與英文地址稍有差異
除非物業的中文地址與英文地址出現矛盾或含混情況,否則本處不會因為註冊摘要上所寫物業的中文地址和英文地址出現輕微差異(例如 "3 樓B單位" 相對於 "Flat B on 3/F" 或 "九龍旺角彌敦道101號" 相對於 "101 Nathan Road, Kowloon" 等)而中止為相關文書註冊。

 

就沒有代價或只有象徵式代價的文書申請退還註冊費時所需的文件證明

3. 一如土地註冊處通函第1/95號 (只提供英文版) 本所述,對沒有代價或只有象徵式代價的文書徵收的註冊費,應與適用於代價超過750,000元的文書的收費水平相同。因此,沒有代價或只有象徵式代價的文書須按《土地註冊費用規例》附表第(1)(b)項的徵費規定,繳付450元費用。上述通函指出,申請退還註冊費的人士必須提出證據,證明應徵收較低款額的註冊費,其申請才會獲得考慮。本處通常只會接納由差餉物業估價署所作的物業估值為支持退還註冊費申請的證據。

4. 本處現決定擴大可接受文件證明的範圍,以涵蓋:

  1. 由產業測量師就受影響處所近期發出的估值報告;或
  2. 由財務機構就受影響處所的物業價值近期發出的確認書。

5. 如對本通函有任何疑問,請聯絡本處客戶服務經理陳愛蘭女士(現更改為劉少雯女士)(電話:3105 0000),或電郵本處(csa@landreg.gov.hk)查詢。