Land Registry Circular Memorandum No. 04/09

21 July 2009

Practice on Registration of Instruments Chargeable with Stamp Duty


This circular provides information on Land Registry's practice with respect to registration of instruments chargeable with stamp duty that have not been stamped or adjudicated before they are delivered for registration.

Instruments Liable to Stamp Duty under the Stamp Duty Ordinance (Cap. 117)

2. According to the Stamp Duty Ordinance (Cap. 117), certain types of instruments in relation to property transactions are chargeable with stamp duty. The main types are:

3. Generally speaking, if an instrument is a conveyance on sale, a lease of immovable property in Hong Kong, or an agreement for sale of a residential property in Hong Kong, it is chargeable with stamp duty under Section 4 and Head 1(1), 1(1A) and 1(2) to the First Schedule of the Stamp Duty Ordinance (Cap. 117).

(Note: Since the enactment of Stamp Duty (Amendment) (No. 2) Ordinance 2014, agreements for sale of non-residential properties are also chargeable with stamp duty.)

Withholding Unstamped Instrument from Registration

4. As laid down in Land Office Circular Memorandum No. 108, since the enactment of the Stamp Duty (Amendment) Ordinance 1992 the Land Registry will not accept an unstamped instrument for registration. Where an instrument chargeable with stamp duty is not stamped before it is delivered for registration, such instrument will be withheld from registration and returned to the lodging party for clarification on stamp duty payment.

Referring Doubtful Cases to Stamp Office for Advice

5. Whenever there is any dispute or doubt as to whether the instrument is liable to stamp duty, the Land Registry will refer the instrument, together with any explanation letter from the lodging party, to the Stamp Office (which is the authority to administer and enforce the provisions of the Stamp Duty Ordinance) requesting the Collector of Stamp Revenue to express his opinion on whether the executed instrument is chargeable with stamp duty.

6. In case the Collector of Stamp Revenue advises that the instrument may be liable to stamp duty, the Land Registry will return the instrument to the lodging party with the explanation and request that the instrument is stamped or adjudicated before registration. The lodging party should then withdraw the instrument from registration. The memorial number will be cancelled. The original stamped instrument will then be delivered under a new memorial number to the Land Registry for registration. Priority will relate to the date of the stamped instrument or to the date of its delivery for registration under the provisions of the Land Registration Ordinance.

Delivery of Duly Stamped/Adjudicated Instruments for Registration

7. With a view to reducing the number of instruments that have to be withheld from registration due to non-payment of stamp duty and to avoid unnecessary delay in the registration process, you are reminded to ensure that instruments chargeable with stamp duty are duly stamped or adjudicated, or stamped with an indication that the instrument is pending adjudication, before they are delivered for registration. In case of doubt, you may submit the original instrument together with any relevant supporting documents to the Stamp Office for adjudication at a fee before it is delivered to the Land Registry for registration. For details of the stamping and adjudication of property transfer instrument services provided by the Stamp Office, please visit the Inland Revenue Department website (


8. For any enquiries on this circular, please contact our Customer Service Manager at 3105 0000 or e-mail us at

土 地 註 冊 處 通 函 第 4/09 號

二零零九年七月廿一日

有關可予徵收印花稅的文書的註冊處理

目的

本通函闡述本處對於處理一些可予徵收印花稅而在交付註冊前仍未加蓋適當印花或獲裁定應否繳付印花稅的文書的一貫做法。

根據《印花稅條例》(第117章)須繳付印花稅的文書

2. 根據《印花稅條例》(第117章),某些與物業交易有關的文書須繳付印花稅,主要類別載列如下:

3. 一般而言,如果文書是香港境內不動產的售賣轉易契,租契,或是住宅物業的買賣協議,便須根據《印花稅條例》(第117章)第4條及附表1第1(1)、1(1A)及1(2)類繳付印花稅。

(註:自2014年印花稅 (修訂) (第2號)條例通過後,非住宅物業的售賣協議亦須繳付印花稅。)

暫止為未加蓋印花的文書辦理註冊

4. 按照土地註冊處通函第108號,自《1992年印花稅(修訂)條例》制定以後,土地註冊處不會為未加蓋適當印花的文書辦理註冊。如果須繳付印花稅的文書在交付註冊前並未加蓋適當印花,該文書會被暫止註冊及退還予交契人士以釐清繳付印花稅事宜。

要求印花稅署對存疑個案提供意見

5. 若對於某份文書應否繳付印花稅出現爭議或疑問,土地註冊處會把該份文書連同交契人士的書面陳述 (如有的話)一併轉交印花稅署(該署是負責管理及執行《印花稅條例》的規定的部門),要求印花稅署署長就該份已簽立的文書應否繳付印花稅提供意見。

6. 如印花稅署署長認為該份文書可能須繳付印花稅,土地註冊處便會把文書連同有關解釋退還交契人士,請交契人士先為文書加蓋印花或申請裁定應否繳付印花稅然後才交付註冊。在此情況下,交契人士須撤回該份文書的註冊申請,相關註冊摘要編號因而會被撤銷。當交契人士將已加蓋適當印花的文書重新交付土地註冊處辦理註冊時,本處會為文書配以新的註冊摘要編號。文書的優先次序則會按相關的《土地註冊條例》的條文規定以文書日期或其交付註冊的日期決定。

把已加蓋印花╱已獲裁定應否繳付印花稅的文書交付註冊

7. 為減少因未加蓋印花而遭暫止註冊的文書數目及為免註冊過程受到不必要的延誤,懇請交契人士在把可予徵收印花稅的文書交付註冊前,確保文書已加蓋印花或獲裁定不須繳付印花稅,或已附有表明文書正待裁定的蓋印。若不確定擬註冊的文書須否繳付印花稅,請先把文書正本連同相關證明文件交到印花稅署申請裁定(裁定服務須予收費),然後才把文書交付土地註冊處辦理註冊。有關印花稅署提供的物業轉讓文書加蓋印花及裁定印花稅服務的詳情,請瀏覽稅務局的網頁(www.ird.gov.hk)。

查詢

8. 如對本通函有疑問,請聯絡本處的客戶服務經理(電話:3105 0000)或電郵至csa@landreg.gov.hk查詢。

土 地 註 冊 處 處 長 蘇 啟 龍

土 地 註 冊 處 處 長