Stamp Duty

Short Description:

The Stamp Duty Ordinance imposes duty on certain types of instruments, which are mainly conveyance on sale, agreement for sale and lease of immovable property.


Quick Tips:

FAQ:

Q1: What should I put if the instrument is not chargeable with stamp duty?
A: Please specify "Nil" or " N.A.".

Q2: What should I put if the instrument is being/has been adjudicated?
A: Please specify "adjudicated".

Q3: What should I put if the agreement is subject to deferred payment of stamp duty?
A: Please specify "deferred".

Q4: What should I put if stamp duty is payable for both original instrument and counterpart instrument?
A: Please specify the amount of stamp duty for both original instrument and counterpart instrument.

Q5: Should stamp duty be paid in your department?
A: No. Matters relating to stamp duty are handled by the Stamp Office of the Inland Revenue Department. For enquires, please call 2594 3201.

Q6: Should registered instruments for which new stamp duty has been paid be registered again?
A: There is no such requirement in the Land Registration Ordinance. However, you may choose to register the instruments again should you so wish.

Q7: An Agreement for Sale and Purchase with the Stamp Certificate showing "Deferred Stamping has been registered. Can the subsequent Stamp Certificate showing full payment of stamp duty for the Agreement for Sale and Purchase be annexed together with the Stamp Certificate for the Assignment in lodging the Assignment for registration so that the public may be aware of the full payment of the stamp duty for the Agreement for Sale and Purchase?
A: For clarity purpose, it would be more proper to annex the Stamp Certificate to the subject instrument for re-registration or to register the stamp certificate alone. Nevertheless, the Land Registry, in the perspective of deeds registration, will not bar the attachment of such stamp certificate to the Assignment.

Q8: When an Agreement for Sale and Purchase is lodged for registration, the land register for the affected premises has not been created and no information on the official address can be obtained; therefore, no such information has been included in the Stamp Certificate for the Agreement. For the subsequent Assignment, will Land Registry accept registration of the same even though the official address is not stated in the Stamp Certificate?
A: Yes, provided that the premises affected are clearly identified in the Stamp Certificate. In such cases, it is optional to specify the official address.

   
Q9: Will the Land Registry proceed to register an instrument on the lodging party’s written confirmation/explanation that the instrument is not liable to stamp duty?
A: If the lodging party’s written confirmation/explanation is provided without any supporting evidence issued by the Stamp Office, the Land Registry will withhold the instrument from registration and refer the same to the Stamp Office for advice. If the Stamp Office advises that the instrument is chargeable with stamp duty, the lodging party should withdraw the instrument from registration and lodge the duly stamped instrument for registration under a fresh memorial number. You may refer to Land Registry Circular Memorandum No. 4/09 for details. (Note: Since the enactment of Stamp Duty (Amendment) (No. 2) Ordinance 2014, agreements for sale of non-residential properties are also chargeable with stamp duty.)

印 花 稅

簡要說明:

《印花稅條例》訂明某類文書須徵收印花稅,主要是不動產售賣轉易契,售賣協議及租契。

快速指引:

  • 指已付的印花稅
  • 蓋印日期不應遲於註冊日期。
  • 所有可予徵收印花稅的文書應在交付註冊前蓋印。根據土地註冊處通函第 108 號 (只提供英文版本),因沒有繳付印花稅而被暫止註冊的文書,都會被中止註冊及取消註冊摘要編號。
  • 有關可予徵收印花稅的文書的註冊處理,請參考土地註冊處通函4/09號。(註:自2014年印花稅 (修訂) (第2號)條例通過後,非住宅物業的售賣協議亦須繳付印花稅。)

常見問題 :

問 1: 如文書不可予徵收印花稅,應填寫什麼?
答: 請註明"無" 或 "不適用" 。
   
問 2: 如文書正在/已被裁定,應填寫什麼?
答: 請註明 "已裁定" 。
   
問 3: 如協議須延遲繳付印花稅,應填寫什麼?
答: 請註明 "延遲" 。
   
問 4: 如文書正本及文書副本應繳付印花稅,應填寫什麼?
答: 請註明文書正本及文書副本的印花稅款額。
   
問 5: 印花稅可否在貴處繳交?
答: 不可。印花稅事宜是由稅務局的印花稅署負責。查詢電話是2594 3201。
   
問 6: 如已註冊的文書打了新的印花稅,是否需要再註冊?
答: 《土地註冊條例 》並無這樣的規定,但你可以選擇為文書再辦理註冊。
   
問 7: 若買賣協議在註冊時,附連的印花證明書註明會延後繳付印花稅,那麼,在繳付印花稅後,證明已繳稅的買賣協議印花證明書可否與轉讓契的印花證明書夾在一起,跟轉讓契一併送交註冊,讓公眾知道買賣協議已經繳付印花稅?
答: 為清晰起見,更恰當的做法是重註附連已完稅印花證明書的買賣協議,或單獨註冊該份已完稅的印花證明書。不過,從契約註冊的角度看,本處不會限制把買賣協議印花證明書夾附在轉讓契內一併註冊的做法。
   
問 8: 若交付註冊的買賣協議所涉的物業因為尚未開設土地登記冊而未有正式地址,令買賣協議的印花證明書無法載錄有關資料。那麼,隨後開立的轉讓契的印花證明書若沒有該物業的正式地址,會否獲准註冊?
答: 會。但是,轉讓契的印花證明書必須可以清晰確認有關物業。若能符合這項條件,該印花證明書便不一定須要註明物業的正式地址。
   
問 9: 如交契人士以書面確認/解釋所遞交的文書無須繳付印花稅,土地註冊處會否為其註冊該份文書 ?
答: 如交契人士只以書面確認/解釋所遞交的文書無須繳付印花稅,但沒有提供由印花稅署簽發的任何證明文件,土地註冊處會暫止為該份文書註冊,並會要求印花稅署提供意見。如該署認為文書須繳付印花稅,交契人士便須撤回先前的申請,然後為文書繳妥印花稅,才重新遞交註冊。新申請將配以新的註冊摘要編號。詳情請參閱土地註冊處通函第4/09號。(註:自2014年印花稅 (修訂) (第2號)條例通過後,非住宅物業的售賣協議亦須繳付印花稅。)