Our Services

Resources Centre

Frequently Asked Questions
e-Booking Service

Memorial Form Easy Guide

Guidelines on Chinese property addresses to be specified in Memorials

after Integrated Registration Information System (IRIS) rollout

1. Background
  • The Land Registry has pledged to provide secure, customer friendly land information services. To improve the user-friendliness of the land search service, property addresses in Chinese will be added to the Land Register. This will also help the legal profession to realize the benefits of their long time commitment in promoting the implementation of a bilingual legal system. Following consultation with parties in 1999 requiring the Chinese property address to be given in the memorial form when known, a provision was included in the Land Registration (Amendment) Ordinance. The Ordinance was passed by the Legislative Council in July 2002. The provision on specifying the Chinese address in memorial forms came into effect when the department's Integrated Registration Information System (IRIS) was put into production in February 2005. This paper provides legal practitioners with guidelines as to authoritative reference on Chinese addresses that they can refer to for the purpose of completing the memorial forms.
2. The Rate Demand as an authoritative reference for completing memorial forms
  • Under the provisions of the Amendment Ordinance, subparagraph (d) of paragraph (1) and subparagraph (e) of paragraph (2) of Regulation 6 of the Land Registration Regulations are amended by adding "(including the address in the Chinese language if known)" at the end of each of the subparagraphs.
  • The Rating and Valuation Department has compiled a bilingual Valuation List/Government Rent Roll by conducting an exercise to convert the English description of every property to Chinese. The bilingual Valuation List/Government Rent Roll and the Rate Demands with Chinese addresses have been issued to the ratepayers. The Chinese addresses established by the Rating and Valuation Department is updated and reliable. For the purpose of completion of memorials for registration, we consider the bilingual Rate Demand a convenient and authoritative reference of the Chinese address of a property.
3. Handling of special cases
  • Despite the easy availability of the Rate Demands, we understand that establishing a reliable address in Chinese for land registration purpose may not always be possible. Hence the lodging party of a document is only required to provide the Chinese description where practicable.
  • If the lodging party finds it difficult to establish a certain Chinese address and considers it a doubtful case, he is not required to provide any information on the Chinese address in the memorial. It is optional for him to insert a note 'Chinese address not known' in the memorial.
  • If a Chinese address specified in the memorial conflicts with other descriptions previously established, for example, the Chinese addresses recorded on the Land Register of other premises on the same lot or the descriptions adopted in previously registered instruments, the Land Registry will seek clarification from the lodging solicitors so that we can proceed with the registration appropriately against the proper land register of the property concerned. If it cannot be satisfactorily ascertained, the doubtful description will be removed and the note "Chinese address not known" placed in the memorial instead. Generally speaking, these clarifications may not have fee implication. However, a mistake arising from failure to check available records will be subject to payment of a disincentive fee. For example, a disincentive fee will be payable in case of a discrepancy between the Chinese address already shown on the register and the one specified in the new memorial.
4. Updating of Chinese property addresses shown on the Land Register
  • The Land Registry will usually update the address information of the Land Register upon registration of instruments. A note "Chinese address not known" will be shown in the Chinese address field of a land register with English address if the particulars are not available or if there is any uncertainty. For new property developments, a bilingual property schedule supplied in advance would speed up the updating process.


- END -

「綜 合 註 冊 資 訊 系 統」啟 用 後 註 冊 摘 要

須 註 明 中 文 物 業 地 址 指 南

1. 背景

  • 土地註冊處承諾為客戶提供穩妥易用的土地資訊服務。為讓客戶使用土地註冊服務時更感方便,本處會在土地登記冊加入物業的中文地址,這一點有助法律專業人士體現他們長期以來致力提倡推行雙語法律系統的好處。本處在 1999 年建議如客戶知道物業的中文地址,便須在註冊摘要表格加以註明,並就建議徵詢有關團體的意見。加入中文地址的規定隨後獲納入《土地註冊 (修訂) 條例》,而該條例在 2002 年在立法會通過。訂明註冊摘要表格必須註明中文地址的條文,會於 2005 年 2 月本處的「綜合註冊資訊系統」投入服務時生效。本文件為法律執業人士提供指引,以便查閱中文地址的有力參考資料,供他們填寫註冊摘要表格時可以參照。

2. 徵收差餉通知書是填寫註冊摘要表格的可靠依據

  • 根據該修訂條例的規定,《土地註冊規例》第 6 條第 1 段 (d) 分段和第 2 段 (e) 分段予以修訂,每個分段的結尾都加入 "(包括所知悉的中文地址)"。
  • 差餉物業估價署已把每項物業的英文名稱轉為中文,並編製了一本中英對照的雙語估價冊╱地稅冊。雙語版的估價冊╱地稅冊,以及備有中文地址的徵收差餉通知書已經向差餉繳納人發出。差餉物業估價署確立的中文地址是最新和可信賴的。就填寫註冊摘要以辦理註冊而言,本處認為中英對照的徵收差餉通知書是參考物業中文地址最為方便及可靠的依據。

3. 處理特別個案

  • 儘管客戶很容易便可取得徵收差餉通知書作參考,但我們明白就土地註冊的目的而言,客戶並非每次都能確立一個可靠的中文地址。因此,遞交文件的人士只在實際可行的情況下,才須提供地址的中文名稱。
  • 如交契人士難以確立某中文地址,並對有關地址存疑,可選擇在註冊摘要內不提供任何中文地址資料或填寫 "中文地址不詳" 字句。
  • 如在註冊摘要註明的中文地址與先前確立的其他名稱 (例如在登記冊記錄同一地段其他處所的中文地址,或先前在已註冊文書所採用的名稱) 有抵觸,則土地註冊處會與遞交文件的律師澄清問題所在,以便本處可根據有關物業的正確土地登冊繼續辦理註冊。如未能完全確定有關地址的名稱,則有懷疑的名稱會被刪去,改而在註冊摘要註明 "中文地址不詳"。一般而言,澄清這些問題未必需要收費。然而,如客戶因沒有查核紀錄而引致出錯,便須支付遏制費用。舉例說,如已在登記冊顯示的中文地址與在新的註冊摘要內註明的地址不一致,本處便須收取遏制費用。

4. 更新在土地登記冊顯示的中文物業地址

  • 在為文書辦理註冊後,土地註冊處通常會更新土地登記冊的地址資料。如未能提供中文地址的詳情或地址有不明確的地方,有英文地址的土地登記冊的中文地址欄會顯示"中文地址不詳"。對於新的物業發展項目來說,預先獲提供有關物業的雙語物業附表,有助加快更新地址資料的程序。

-完-